Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Kenton RC Nick Clark Memorial RR

Buckinghamshire, September 15, 2002


Local hero Colin Roshier (Team Quest/The Bike Shop) added another domestic win to his growing tally for 2002 by winning on his own in the Nick Clark Memorial road race.

On a cool and overcast day, Roshier slipped away from the leading group of five riders near the end of the race with Yorkshire's John Charlesworth in pursuit 18 seconds behind. A break or around 25-riders had established itself early in the race with all of the pre-race favourites except for Paul Crook (Sigma Sport RT) who missed the crucial move.

With the bunch considerably slimmed down during 11 climbs of the long drag up to Hedgerley Village, they continued to race but couldn't match the speed of the leaders. By half distance, the leading group had split into two and it appeared that the second group riders were not anxious to help Belgium based Tom Southam (Bloks/Nijdam) make up the growing time deficit. Yanto Barker (GS Bollinton) won the sprint for third place from Andrew Young with strongman Rory Wyley ( paying for his race-long hard front running in fourth.

Southam still had enough left at the finish to win his group sprint, seemingly without having to get out of breath.

The supporting Ginger Smallwood race for 4th category and junior riders was a simple affair with teammates Nick Holmes and Anthony Bradford (North Road CC) escaping on the final lap with the bunch finally conceding to the many attacks of the morning. Jack Davis (Team Sport & Publicity) took the bunch sprint for third.


Kenton RC Nick Clark Memorial RR (88 miles)
1 Colin Roshier (Team Quest)                3.26.30
2 John Charlesworth (South Yorkshire Police)     18
3 Yanto Barker (SG Bollington)                   42
4 Andrew Young 
5 Roy Wyley ( 
6 Tom Southam (Bloks/Nijdam)                   3.22
7 Dave Coulson (JE James)
8 Jeff Williams 
9 Nigel Williamson (Python RT)
10 Andy Collis (Team Lichfield)
Kenton RC Ginger Smallwood Memorial RR (48 miles)
1 Nick Holmes (North Road CC)               2.03.10 
2 Anthony Bradford (North Road CC) 
3 Jack Davis (Sport & Publicity)               0.11
4 E Summerwell (Team Quest) 
5 R Moss (Beyond Mountain Bikes) 
6 S Tresham (Team Milton Keynes) 
7 A Baneke (High Wycombe CC) 
8 S Cannings (Team Milton Keynes); 
9 R Beale (Didcot Phoenix CC); 
10 D Gayler (Kenton RC) 

Previous results from the UK