Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for May 11-17, 2002

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Milton Keynes Bowl Vet racing

May 14, 2002

Veteran's racing returned to the Milton Keynes Bowl last night with some notable absentees. With organiser Ron Day in Adenbrookes hospital recovering from a serious racing accident, and his assistant Gordon Batcock away on family business in Manchester, the organisational responsibilities once again fell on the shoulders of stalwart Milton Bowl Agent, Dick Selley (North Bucks Road Club). Selley was ably assisted by two familiar faces from the past: John Bayliss (ex-Alpha RC) and Ian Cooper. Also missing from the first meeting of the season were the two series Champions from the 2001 season: Bob Varney (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles) and Dave Atkinson (North Bucks RC).

With only twenty riders on the start list for the first race of the new series, numbers were down on last year's record attendances. It is hoped that the forthcoming good weather may bring out larger numbers for the remainder of the series. Unfortunately, the races do not appear in the Handbook, but racing starts at 7pm three Tuesdays per month at the Milton Keynes Bowl. There will be racing on the next two Tuesdays, 21st May and 28th May 2002. The races are an ideal opportunity for any budding comeback riders to get back into competitive cycling and would also be suitable for any novice veteran rider (over 40) wishing to start racing.

In the continued absence of Ron Day, further details are available from Dick Selley on 01908 373241.


1 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage)
2 Don Parry (Nene Valley RT)
3 Carl Stuckenbrook (Team Miton Keynes)
4 Paul Thomson (Hemel Hempstead CC)
5 Joe Quill (Team Milton Keynes)
6 Steve Osborn (Rockingham Forest Wheelers)
1 Bob Richards (Nene Valley RT)
2 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)
3 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)
4 Dave Stockley (Weedon)

Previous results from UK