Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 15-21, 2002

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




LVRC King of the Bowl Race 5

Milton Keynes, June 18, 2002

Mulkern holds off opposition

Report courtesy Dick Selley

The fifth race in the Milton Keynes based series saw the largest field to date, drawn out by a fine, dry and sunny evening. Once again, aggressive racing from the off saw Joe Quill (Team Milton Keynes) with a small lead for the opening laps. When Quill was finally closed down by debutant Mountain Biker, Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT), the action continued with a counter attack from Team Milton Keynes' World Championship Duathlon medallist, Kevin Farmer. Farmer was soon joined by Mulkern and Bob Varney (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles).

This trio worked smoothly together for the remainder of the race, collecting Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC) and Bob Richards (Solihull CC) from the DEF group who had started 2 minutes in front of the 'youngsters', after twenty five minutes. The final sprint was a very tight affair with strongman Mulkern just holding off the late run of Varney by half a wheel, with Benger clinching the DEF Race, a further half a wheel behind. Farmer and Richards were just tailed off in the final charge. Mike Wilson (North Bucks RC) clinched fourth place in the ABC race with a fine finish at the head of the sprinting bunch, whilst Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC) consolidated his second place overall with a fine third place in the DEF category.


ABC Race
1 Jeremey Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT)
2 Bob Varney  (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles)
3 Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes)                0.03
4 Mike Wilson (North Bucks RC)                     1.50
5 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CC)
6 Ben Justin (Nene Valley RT)
ABC Overall
1 Bob Varney (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)         12 pts
2 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)        7
3 Carl Stuckenbrook (Team Milton Keynes)              5
DEF Race
1 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC)
2 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)                       0.05
3 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)                    1.50
4 John Talbot (Welwyn Wheelers)
5 Dave Stokely (Merseyside Wheelers)
6 Gordon Batcock (North Bucks RC)
DEF Overall
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)                         15 pts
2 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)                      11
3 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)                        6
Results courtesy Dick Selley

Previous results from UK