Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & Reports from the United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




LVRC King of the Bowl Race 10

Milton Keynes, July 30, 2002

Third time pays for Maris

From Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)

Keir Maris (KTM Racing) sprinted to his first victory in the LVRC King of the Bowl series after his two previous attempts had been frustrated by Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles team mates and series leaders Bob Varney and Paul Freeman. Two weeks ago it was Varney who escaped from Maris on the last lap and last week it was Freeman who had gained the upper hand when away in a near race long move with Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes).

Revenge was sweet for the BCF Veterans Road Race Silver medalists when he escaped from the bunch along with Don Parry (Nene Valley RT) with six laps remaining, before out sprinting Parry, the BCF National Junior Road Race Champion from 1967, by a bike length. Parry's Nene Valley RT team mate Martin Bunker clipped off with three laps to go and out sprinted Furzton based Paul Thomson (Hemel Hempstead CC) for third place.

Local team Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles found themselves out of the points for only the second occassion this season with both Bob Varney (Asthma) and Ian Cooper (Work Committments) absent and although Paul Freeman rode his usual aggressive race, without team support, he was unable to improve upon winning the bunch sprint for fifth.

Team Milton Keynes have had the numerical strength all season and whilst Kevin Farmer and Mick Atkins were again active neither could make the winning move. In the DEF race Bob Richards (Solihull CC) was again the only rider able to stay with the youngsters and secured not only the win but also the DEF Series overall with last nights victory.


ABC Race
1 Keir Maris (KTM Racing)
2 Don Parry (Nene Valley RT)
3 Martin Bunker (Nene Valley RT)               0.10
4 Paul Thomson (Hemel Hempstead CC)
5 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles)   0.15
6 Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT)
DEF Race
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)
One lap behind
2 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)
Two laps behind
3 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers)
4 Gordon Batcock (North Bucks RC)
ABC Overall
1 Bob Varney (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)         20 pts
2 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)       14
3 Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes)                  10
4 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CTC)                        9
5 Keir Maris (KTM Racing)                             7
6 Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT)                  6
7 Joe Quill (Team Milton Keynes)                      5
7 Carl Stuckenbrook (Team Milton Keynes)              5
DEF Overall
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)                         31 pts
2 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)                      21
2 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC)                         15
4 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers)                 8
4 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)                        6
4 Jeff Park (Aylesbury CC)                            6

Previous results from UK