Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




T & T Meadows Grand Prix

Essex, July 21, 2002

The T & T Meadows Grand Prix was won in a close finish by New Zealand Commonwealth Games rider Susy Pryde from team-mate Melissa Holt. These two riders, in their final preparation event before the Games starts, dominated the latter stages of the 52 mile event on the Essex / Herts border.

The race, which contained four separate championships: the National Junior WCRA, National Espoir, and Eastern Region Championships, was sponsored by G & D Plumbing and Heating (Halstead), Manor Street Cycles (Braintree) and Tesco's.

A crash on the opening lap, which left Lisa Thompson (VC Bayeux) requiring a hospital check-up, split the race into three groups. The New Zealand riders Pryde and Holt along with team-mate Kirsty Robb and British internationals Sara Waller (Team Letchworth-Extran) and Charlotte Goldsmith (SP Systems-Wightlink) forced the pace. Despite losing Robb, due to stomach problems, the leading group continued to gain ground on the main field. With about 15 miles to go the Kiwi duo attacked in turn and proved too strong, riding away from the British pair.

At the finish Pryde beat Holt by a matter of inches whilst Waller dropped Goldsmith on the run-in to win both the WCRA Championship and the Eastern title. Sally Boyden (Classic Walls CRT) won the bunch sprint for 5th from Helen Gutteridge (Beeston RC) – some 9 minutes behind the flying Kiwi duo. Also in the main field was 16 year-old Cheryl Larsen (Shaftesbury CC) who produced an outstanding performance to become the first ever National Junior Champion, with Heather Summers (Beeston RC) winning the new National Espoir Championship.

Results, 52 miles

1 Susy Pryde (New Zealand National Team)              2.19.28
2 Melissa Holt (New Zealand National Team)
3 Sara Waller (Team Letchworth-Extran)                   2.53
4 Charlotte Goldsmith (SP Systems-Wightlink RT)          3.39
5 Sally Boyden (Classic Walls CRT)                       9.09
6 Helen Gutteridge (Beeston RC)
7 Jeanette Tebbutt (Team Letchworth-Extran)
8 Susan Carter (Team Powerbar)
9 Heather Summers (Beeston RC)
10 Nina Davies (Port Talbot Wheelers)
11 Chrissie Wentzel (Hemel Hempstead CC)
12 Hsu Min Chung (Twickenham CC-Stairmaster)
13 Cheryl Larsen (Shaftesbury CC)
14 Karen Jeffery (Hiscox Insurance RT-Condor)
15 Colette Swift (Old Portlians CC)
16 Kimberley Walsh (Team Letchworth-Extran)             15.25
17 Debbie Percival (34 Nomads-Gem Hygiene)              15.27
18 Nicola Wadham (Kingston Wheelers)                    18.03
19 Abigail  Armstrong (London Phoenix)                  21.54
20 Ann Bath (Kingston Phoenix RC)                       22.00
21 Louise Davidson (Lincoln Wheelers)                   25.33
22 Rebecca Jones (Paul Moy Associates)                  26.06
23 Gabriella Day (VC Lincoln-Impsport)                  26.46
24 Louise Schuller (Finsbury Park CC)                   38.04
25 Caroline Songhurst-Stiles (Fareham Wheelers)         45.17

Championships results

WCRA Championship (Eileen Gray Trophy)  
1 Sara Waller (Team Letchworth-Extran)
2 Charlotte Goldsmith (SP Systems-Wightlink)
3 Sally Boyden (Classic Walls CRT)
BC National Junior Championship  
1 Cheryl Larsen (Shaftesbury CC)
2 Kimberley Walsh (Team Letchworth-Extran)
3 Gabriella Day (VC Lincoln-Impsport)
BC National Espoir Championship  
1 Heather Summers (Beeston RC)
2 Karen Jeffery (Hiscox Insurance-Condor)
3 Rebecca Jones (Paul Moy Associates)
Eastern Region Championship  
1 Sara Waller (Team Letchworth-Extran)
2 Jeanette Tebbutt (Team Letchworth-Extran)
3 Cheryl Larsen (Shaftesbury CC)

Previous results from UK