Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for July 13-19, 2002

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




LVRC King of the Bowl, Race 7

Milton Keynes, July 9, 2002

Report and Results Courtesy of Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)

After heavy rain during the day, Race 7 in the LVRC King of the Bowl series, started under clear and sunny skies with only a slight breeze to trouble the riders, on this now familiar one kilometre circuit around the service road of the National Bowl concert venue.

There was an un-familiar steady start to the race with no early attacks and no attempts from the older DEF group to jump across to the still compact ABC group. After sometime it was Joe Quill (Team Milton Keynes) a regular in the series, who was the first to attack, enjoying some freedom off of the front before he was absorbed back into the bunch. Next to try his hand was Paul Thomson (Hemel Hempstead CC) who again enjoyed some freedom before he too was brought back to the main group.

The race winning move was launched by Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes) with 25 minutes remaining. Farmer, an elite Duathlete and Silver medallist in last year's World Veterans Championships, quickly built up a thirty second lead and was soon joined by team-mate Quill. Quill's time at the front was to be short lived after an attack of cramp that saw him sit up and slip back to the chasing group. Farmer rode strongly to hold his lead at about thirty seconds.

With five laps to go the counter attacks started to flow, first from Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT) and then from Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC), but approaching the bell it was all back together in the chasing group, as Farmer held on for a fine individual win. The furious sprint for second was taken by Dave Benger from Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CC) winner of Race One. Bob Richards was again second in the DEF Race.

With six races in the series remaining Bob Varney (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles) has a six point lead from his clubmate Paul Freeman in the ABC Race and Bob Richards (Solihull CC) has a seven point lead over the second placed Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC).

Varney and Freeman were both absent last night . Varney on Team Manager duties with the youngsters from Team Keyne - Trek at the GHS District Time Trial Championships, in which Team Keyne-Trek once again qualified for the National Championship finals.

Freeman, meanwhile was enjoying a mid summer training camp in the scorching French sunshine with his new 'adopted' team-mates in the Velo Club Mayenne. Freeman, Bronze medallist in last year's National Veterans Criterium Championships, will return to the UK next week when he continues his build up for the Veterans National Road Race Championships at Brill and also goes for a fresh tilt at the Veterans National Criterium Championships in Lichfield.


ABC Race
1 Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes)
2 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CC) @ 30 sec
3 Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT)
4 Paul Thomson (Hemel Hempstead CC)
5 Ian Cooper (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles)
6 Carl Stukenbrook (Team Milton Keynes)

DEF Race
1 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC)
2 Bob Richards ( Solihull CC)
3 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)
4 Jeff Park (Aylesbury CC)
5 Gordon Batcock (North Bucks RC
ABC Overall
1 Bob Varney (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles) 16 pts
2 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles) 10
3 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CC) 7
3 Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes) 7
5 Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT) 6
6 Joe Quill (Team Milton Keynes) 5
6 Carl Stuckenbrook (Team Milton Keynes) 5
DEF Overall
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC) 21 pts
2 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC) 14
3 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC) 12
4 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers) 6
4 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC) 6
4 Jeff Park (Aylesbury CC) 6

Previous results from UK