Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for July 6-12, 2002

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Ingliston Crit Series No 6

July 4, 2002

Muir on track at Ingliston Criterium

By Neil Muir

Commonwealth Games road and track selection Ross Muir, Cycling Scotland, was in dominant form in the sixth round of the popular Ingliston Criterium Series held on 4 July. Muir has yet to be beaten on the longer, more technical and demanding Ingliston circuit, and again showed his relish for it by winning the first sprint prime and going on to a clear solo victory by 21 seconds from a 5 man chasing group.

Darren Howitt and Mark Silver got the race off to a cracking start by gaining 10 seconds on the first lap but their lead was short-lived. Next to attack was aggressive John Stollery who was soon joined by Gary Hand and Martin Lonie. Sensing the danger of this group Muir took off from the bunch closely followed by Matt Smith and Andy Mathieson.

After a couple of laps chasing the six came together with the bunch at 12 seconds. Muir took the first sprint from Lonie and Hand but the bunch led by Ray Reidy was still in touch and chasing hard. Hand took the second sprint prime from Mathieson but under the ferocious pace the bunch split with five riders -Reidy, Imlah, Howitt, Fernie and Silver- forming the chase group still holding at around 12 seconds. Stollery took the third sprint and behind Nisbet and Taylor had managed to bridge to the chasers.

With 7 minutes and 5 laps to go, Stollery decided it was time to spoil the party and with blistering speed soon opened a 5-second gap. Muir was next to attack and he joined Stollery within half a lap. Lonie realising that this was the crucial move also attacked and made contact a further lap later with the 3 chasers at 5 seconds. With 5 laps to go Muir attacked and immediately opened a gap. Lonie took off in pursuit but Stollery was unable to respond.

With 3 to go Lonie got to within 3 seconds of Muir and behind Stollery was caught by the 3 chasers. However Muir had the bit between his teeth and increased his lead to the finish as Lonie fell back to the chasers but he still had enough left to take the sprint for second. The chase group came in just over a minute back led by Ray Reidy.

Series Leader Evan Oliphant, who was absent on the lucrative highland games circuit, held on to top spot in the series with 185 points. Lonie (153 points) leapfrogged Stollery into third place behind Hand (153). Muir's win moves him up to 6th place with 123 points.

First Division

In the First Division race there was a dramatic finish with brave Gavin Cooper's apparently race-winning break wiped out literally on the line by the blistering finish of Ross Crook, after his Edinburgh Road Club team mate Paul "The Shark" Black had hunted Cooper down. Crook's win jumps him into second place in the series, but he still trails Stuart McManus, who finished third, by 100 points.

Danny McAleer, Law Wheelers, was an unfortunate crash victim and failed to finish, allowing Chris Paton, Edinburgh Road Club, to overtake him in the junior rankings behind McManus.


Premier League
1 Ross Muir (Cycling Scotland)                     48.59
2 Martin Lonie (Cycling Scotland)                   0.21
3 Gary Hand (Pedal Power)
4 Andy Mathieson (Musselburgh RCC)
5 Matt Smith (Edinburgh Road Club)
6 John Stollery  (Robert Grinsell Travel)           0.30
7 Ray Reidy (Pro Acto Expressa)                     1.02
8 Tom Fernie (Velo Ecosse)                          1.09
9 Mark Silver (Pedal Power)
10 Darren Howitt (Pro Acto Expressa)
First Division
1 Ross Crook (Edinburgh Road Club)                 39.55
2 Gavin Cooper (Cromarty Firth CC)
3 Stuart McManus (Glasgow Wheelers)
4 Jo Cavill (Cycling Scotland)                      0.03
5 Colin Russell (Edinburgh Road Club)
6 Peter Lambie (Kingdom RT)                         0.06
7 Paul Black (Edinburgh Road Club)
8 Colin Fergus (Edinburgh Triathletes)
9 Andy Brown (Edinburgh road Club)
10 Mike Cunningham (Edinburgh Triathletes)
First Youth: Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers)


Previous results from UK