Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results & Reports from the United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




LVRC King of the Bowl Race 12

August 22, 2002

Maris takes finale

By Ron Day (North Bucks RC)

Keir Maris (KTM Racing) sprinted home ahead of a small select group of five riders to win the last race in the season long LVRC promoted 'King of the Bowl' series. Don Parry (Nene Valley RT) was again in second place for the third race in succession with Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT) taking third place.

Bob Richards (Solihull CC) was tailed off on the final lap, but had done enough to secure victory in the older DEF Category for riders between 55 and 70. Taking fourth place and with it the last remaining point available, to secure a share of second place overall with Maris, was Paul Freeman (Alpha RC) who was overheard at the end of a particulary fast race to say "How hard was that..."


ABC (40 - 55) Race
1 Keir Maris (KTM Racing)
2 Don Parry (Nene Valley RT)
3 Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT)
4 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles)
5 Ken Wright (Angliasport RT)
6 Martin Hackley (Unattached)
DEF (55 - 70) Race
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)
2 Stuart Walters (Kettering CC)
3 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)
4 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)
5 Gordon Batcock (North Bucks RC)
6 Clive Faine (Team Milton Keynes)
ABC (40 - 55) Overall
1 Bob Varney (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)      20 pts
2 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)    15
2 Keir Maris (KTM Racing)                         15
4 Don Parry (Nene Valley RT)                      13
5 Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes)               10
6 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CTC)                     9
DEF (55 - 70) Overall
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)                     35 pts
2 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)                  23
3 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC)                     15
4 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers)            11
5 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)                    7
5 Stuart Walters (Kettering CC)                   7

Previous results from UK