Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & Reports from the United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




LVRC King of the Bowl Race 11

August 13, 2002

Maris sprints to the line

By Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)

The penultimate race in the Milton Keynes Bowl based League of Veteran Racing Cyclists "King of the Bowl" Summer Series, was won convincingly by Keir Maris (KTM Racing) after a two man breakaway with Don Parry (Nene Valley RT). Parry, a fast finisher in his own right, had no answer for Maris's final burst of speed in the uphill finish to the line, and had to accept second place to Maris for the second race in succession. Maris and Parry had escaped at about half distance and worked smoothly together to open up a thirty second advantage over the chasing bunch led by Paul Freeman (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles).

The bunch sprint for third place was marred by a crash some 150 metres from the line when Mick Atkins (Team Milton Keynes) had the misfortune to pull his foot from his clipless pedal causing him to crash heavily. Atkins was later transferred to Milton Keynes General Hospital with a suspected broken collar bone. Ken Wright won the sprint for third place from Martin Hackley with Ian Cooper (Bicester Millennium) in fifth place.

In the DEF (55-70 years) race, Bob Richards (Solihull CC) was unable to get away from the bunch on this occasion and rolled in seventh place after being balked by the crash at the finish. Stuart Walters (Kettering CC) avoided the mayhem to record his first win of the season from a resurgent Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers) in second and Clive Faine (Team Milton Keynes) in third.

With just one race remaining in the series, Bob Varney (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles) is now assured of the overall title, despite not racing for the last three weeks after suffering from asthma and breathing difficulties. Varney's team-mate, second placed Paul Freeman now only holds a three point advantage over third placed Keir Maris which should make for an interesting race next week. Don Parry and Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes) are locked together in fourth place on ten points, just one point behind Maris.

In the older category, the first four places overall are all now assured with Bob Richards in first place, Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC) in second, Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC) in third and and Dave Stockley in fourth place.


ABC (40 - 55) Race
1 Keir Maris (KTM Racing)
2 Don Parry (Nene Valley RT) 
3 Ken Wright (Essex RC)                         0.30
4 Martin Hackley (Unattached) 
5 Ian Cooper (Bicester Millennium) 
6 Chris Hartley (Beds Road CC) 
7 Kevin Spires (Team Milton Keynes) 
8 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles) 
9 Kevin Stokes (North Bucks RC) 
10 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CTC) 
DEF (55 - 70) Race
1 Stuart Walters (Kettering CC)
2 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers) 
3 Clive Faine (Team Milton Keynes) 
4 Keith Barnwell (Kettering CC) 
5 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC) 
6 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC) 
7 Bob Richards ( Solihull CC) 
8 Gordon Batcock (North Bucks RC) 
ABC (40 - 55) Overall
1 Bob Varney (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)        20 pts
2 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles)      14 
3 Keir Maris (KTM Racing)                           11 
4 Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes)                 10 
4 Don Parry (Nene Valley RT)                        10 
5 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CTC)                       9 
6 Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT)                 6 
6 Joe Quill (Team Milton Keynes)                     6 
8 Carl Stuckenbrook (Team Milton Keynes)             5 
DEF (55 - 70) Overall
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)                       31 pts
2 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)                    21 
3 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC)                       15 
4 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers)              11 
5 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)                      6 
5 Jeff Park (Aylesbury CC)                          6 

Previous results from UK