Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 27-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Ingliston Series - round 2

May 2, 2002

After sharing a break for over 40 minutes with teammate Richard Chapman, Ross Muir (SCU RT) triumphed in round 2 of the Ingliston Series Premier League. He was a deserving though rather fortuitous winner as Chapman, who had opened a couple of bike lenghts gap attacking into the last hairpin bend slid off on the greasy surface leaving Muir a clear winner by six seconds over the chasing bunch.

Chapman started the winning move after only five minutes of racing and was soon joined by Muir. Sharing the work, they established a maximum lead of only 20 seconds but it was enough, despite concerted chases from the Pedal Power and Velo Ecosse teams. Ray Reidy (Team Acto Expressa) with Andy Mathieson (Musselburgh RCC) spent three laps in an effort to bridge the gap before being caught by a determined bunch. There were further fruitless efforts by the trio of Gary Hand (Pedal Power), Fraser Cartmell and James McCallum (SCU RT) and solo attempts by Matt Smith (Edinburgh RC)and Greg Imlah (SCU RT) but the SCU RT duo with mud caked faces reminiscent of Paris Roubaix had the race under control until that last dramatic corner. Second-placed McCallum retains the lead in the series.

The supporting First Division event took place in a downpour but didn't dampen the enthusiasm of the 40+ riders. There was a strong contingent of triathletes riding the event and two of their number, Fergus Maclean (Stirling Tri Club) and Davy McKeeley (Unattached) stole a march on their road rivals by attacking about 10 laps from home. After Maclean had done the lion's share of the work McKeeley cheekily came round him in the sprint to clinch victory.The Junior squadra McManus and McAleer led in the bunch with first round winner Andrew Murphy surprisingly down in 9th place. McManus takes over the series lead.


Premier League
1 Ross Muir (SCU RT)
2 James McCallum (SCU RT)
3 Evan Oliphant (Velo Ecosse)
4 Gary Hand (Pedal Power)
5 Wilson Kane (Royal Albert CC)
6 Liam Innes (Falkirk BC)
7 Darren Howitt (Velo Ecosse)
8 Fraser Cartmell
9 Greg Imlah (SCU RT)
10 Ewan Mulhern
First Division
1 Davy McKeeley
2 Fergus Maclean (Stirling Tri Club)
3 Stuart McManus (Glasgow Wheelers)
4 Danny McAleer (Law Wheelers)
5 Chris Graham (Johnstone Wheelers)
6 Andy Brown (Edinburgh RC)
7 Paul Black (Edinburgh RC)
8 Sean Martin (Kingdom RT#)
9 Andrew Murphy
10 Tony Reidy (Pro Acto Expressa)

1st Woman: Fiona Lothian (Fife Cycling 2000)
1st Junior: Stuart McManus
1st Youth: Tony Reidy

Previous UK Results