Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 25-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Ingliston Criterium Series Number 1

April 25, 2002

McCallum and Murphy take windy first round

By Neil Muir

The East of Scotland CA crit series kicked off on Thursday with almost 90 riders taking part and giving a show of fast and aggressive riding. In the first Divison race Junior riders took the honours with Andrew Murphy, recently third in the Junior Peaks, taking the bunch sprint from Stuart McManus, Glasgow United and Sean Newington, Edinburgh Road Club.

Former GB rider Alex Coutts was a surprise entrant in the Premier League race having recently flown in from Holland en route to the British Espoirs Championships. Also on the start line were Richard Chapman and James McCallum briefly back from racing in Belgium and Ross Muir and Greg Imlah recently on Scotland duty in the Tour du Loir et Cher. Martin Lonie featured in a doomed early solo break before Greg Imlah went off the front. He was joined by Ross Muir and Gary Hand (Pedal Power) who forged a significant lead before being joined by four other riders. This looked like the crucial break but such was the speed and the windy conditions they faded to be caught by the remnants of the bunch. Lonie again put in attack and stayed away for a couple of laps but with 8 laps left it was all back together again. Ross Muir then negated all attacks by driving hard on the front for the final six laps to set up the victory for team mate McCallum who timed his sprint to perfection to win by half a length.


First Division
1 Andrew Murphy (Unattached )
2 Stuart McManus (Glasgow United CC)
3 Sean Newington (Edinburgh RC)
4 Gavin Cooper Cromarty (Firth CC) 
5 Tom Fernie (Team Velo Ecosse) 
6 Oliver Brookes (Edinburgh RC) 
7 Pete Lambie (Kingdom RT) 
8 Alan Laing (Team Velo Ecosse) 
9 Paul French (Unattached) 
10 Al Cole (Edinburgh RC) 
1st Female: Bianca Thomas (Edinburgh RC)
1st Junior: Andrew Murphy 
1st Youth: Tony Reidy (Pro Acto Expressa)
Premier League
1 James MacCallum, S(CU Race Team)
2 Gary Hand (Pedal Power)
3 Richard Chapman (SCU Race Team)
4 Stephen Couper (Glasgow United)
5 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)
6 Andy Mathieson (Musselburgh RCC)
7 Ray Reidy (Pro Acto Expressa)
8 Gregg Imlah (SCU Race Team)
9 Liam Innes (Falkirk BC)
10 Ross Muir (SCU Race Team)

Previous UK Results