Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for Norway

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Latest results from Norway

2 Stages of Østfold
Statkraft GP
10th Birkebeinerrittet

Jotunheimen Rundt

Lærdal, Norway, July 5-6, 2002

Yes, the Norwegian Jotunheimen Rundt (Tour of Jotunheimen) is a very special tour ride. It starts off at sea level in Lærdal. The first 60 km is a 1000 m climb over Fillefjell. After the descent to Fagernes, at 145 km and 400 m elevation, the second climb over Beitostölen and Valdresflya takes the rider another kilometre up at 205 km. The next major climb starts at Lom after 245 kilometres and goes another 1000 metres up over Sognefjell at 1400 metres before a steep descent, too steep to give the riders any real rest, taking the riders down to Sognefjord. A little climb, rising only 300 metres, is to be passed before they reach Lærdal again with 430 kilometres of alpine roads behind them.

It is not an actual race but there is a "record group". The three fastest riders clocked less than tirteen and a half hours with a speed of 32 kph.


1 John Rune Gilberg (Nye CK Victor)                    13.25.08
2 Odd Aril Bjørnvik (Gauldal SK)
3 Roger Sundet (TVK)
4 Arve Lyngstad (Albil/Team Av)                            5.55
5 Trond Kattem (Nye CK Victor)                            11.30
6 Kåre Sletta (Gauldal SK)                                29.09
7 Jarle Mæhlum (Rye)                                      35.16
8 Knut Nerby (Ringerike SK)                             1.01.24
9 Kjetil Ingvaldsen (Bergen Brannk)                     1.13.38
10 Svein-Erik Vik (Örebrocyklist)                       1.13.38
11 Svein Søli (Hasleløren SK)                           1.13.38
12 Peter Tonër (Västerås CK)                            2.02.03
13 Ove Matland (BCK)                                    2.26.04
14 Helge Johansen (TVK)                                 2.41.23
15 Pål Winberg (Hydro Porsgrunn)                        4.54.50

DNF Jarle Noralf Buczek
DNF Vemund Halvorsen (KIF)
DNF Magnus Persson (Fredrikshovs IF)

Previous results from Norway