Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Belgium

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

10th Tweebruggen Prijs


40th Antwerpen-Tielen

Antwerpen, August 15, 2002

Sean Sullivan wins Antwerpen-Tielen

Australian Sean Sullivan gave the field the slip, in the 40th edition of the Antwerpen - Tielen Interclub race in Belgium on Thursday.

Riding for the Dutch Bloks - Nijdam Team, Sullivan has added to his impressive list of wins this season which already includes Gent - Ieper, Challenge de Hesbaye, Omloop van de Braakman and second place overall in the Olympias Tour.

Sullivan was part of a group of six riders, who were 30seconds clear of the main bunch, and attacked his breakaway companions at 800m to go.

The small front group included former Japanese professional Ken Hashikawa and Domo amateur rider Nick Nuyens.

With Australian teammates Nathan Clarke and Nic Brown also finishing in the top 20, the Bloks - Nijdam squad won the teams classification of the race, beating Domo and ABX Go Pass.

An announcement on the makeup of next season's Blocks-Nijdam professional team is expected this week, with Sullivan sure to play a key role in the new division three squad.


1 Sean Sullivan (Bloks Wielerteam)               3.35.17
2 Eric Torfs (Goed Verzekerd)                       0.07
3 Nick Nuyens (Domo Latexco)
4 Ken Hashikawa (Mixte Asfra-Meetjesland)
5 Robby Meul (ABC Go Pass)
6 Bart Bastiaens (Beveren 2000)                     0.12
7 Koen Heremans (Jonge Renners)                     0.54
8 Nathan Clarke (Bloks Wielerteam)                  0.57
9 Michael Blanchy (Domo Latexco)
10 Tom Linten (Balen BC)
11 Bart Van den Dries (Heist Zuiderkempen)
12 Bart Dockx (Domo Latexco)
13 Nic Brown (Bloks Wielerteam)
14 Kristof De Beule (ABX Go Pass)
15 Joo Vanmeerhaeghe (ABX Go Pass)
16 Wim De Vries (Heist Zuiderkempen)
17 Kurt Van den Berghe (Goed Verzekerd)
18 Sebastien Rosseler (Domo Latexco)
19 Joris Van Mechelen (Edegem BC)                   1.12
20 Arno Wallaard (Domo Latexco)                     1.16
21 Pascal Schuermans (Bouwelse Wielervrienden)
22 Tom Borremans (Think media)
23 Patrick Bassez (Edegem BC)
24 Sjef De Wilde (ABX Go Pass)
25 Danny In 't Ven (Bloks Wielerteam)
26 Michael Srvreanckx (Mez Team)
27 Kevin Neirynck (Beveren 2000)
28 Dimitri Stijns (Balen BC)
29 Cameron Jennings (Team Down Under)
30 Jonatham Van Elst (Hand in Hand)
31 Ken De Feyter (Antwerp BC)
32 Frank Boeckx (Antwerp BC)
33 Jan Beckers (Edegem BC)
34 Roel De Wolf (WAC Hoboken)
35 Rudi Vingerhoets (Think media)
36 Wesley Van den Breock (Nieuwe Hoop Tielen)
37 Erwin Vermeulen (Hand in Hand Baal)              1.28
38 Anton Wouters (Domo Latexco)
39 Ken Van Reeth (Edegem BC)
40 Lester Luyten (Balen BC)
41 Tom De Meyer (Bloks Wielerteam)
42 Dimitri De Herdt (Antwerp BC)                    1.35
43 Stijn Verstraete (Gentse VS)
44 Vanderhoydonck (Hand in Hand Baal)
45 Brendan Higgins (Gentse VS)
46 Jarno Van Mingeroet (Think media)
47 Stef Diels (Nieuwe Hoop Tielen)
48 Gregg Germer (ABC Aitos)
49 Jurgen Proost (Nieuwe Hoop Tielen)
50 Eddy Rombouts (Vos Sportief)
51 Jacob Petty (ABC Aitos)                          1.43
52 Frederick Jouan (Mixte Asfra Meetjesland)
53 Tony Goossens (Beveren 2000)
54 Klaas De Gruyter (Mez Team)
55 Ben Thaens (Domo Latexco)
56 Manion Caleb (Bloks Wielerteam)
57 Trolf De Bruyn (Edegem BC)
58 Rhys Pollock (Team Down Under)
59 Mackie Craig (Bloks Wielerteam)
60 Tim Van Nuffel (Beveren 2000)                    3.35
61 Benny Mannaerts (Hand in Hand Baal)              4.04
62 Frederik Caleys (Edegem BC)
63 Peter De Graeve (Mixte Asfra Meetjesland)
64 Nico Pieters (Mixte Asfra Meetjesland)           4.13
65 Jan Bluekens (Mez Team)
66 Kris Smits (Nieuwe Hoop Tielen)
67 Rob Meiland (Bolks Wielerteam)
68 Bart Eelen (Bouwelse Wielervrienden)
69 Tim De Peuter (Antwerp BC)
70 Eddy Van Bouwel (Nieuwe Hoop Tielen)
71 Pascal Vercauteren (Beveren 2000)
72 Wesley Balcaen (Mixte Asfra Meetjesland)         4.20
73 Kevin Maene (Mez Team)                           4.23

Starters: 154


1 Bloks Wielerteam                              10.47.45
2 Domo Latexco                                      0.07
3 ABX Go Pass                                       0.07
4 Beveren 2000                                      1.17
5 Balen BC                                          1.47
6 Edegem BC                                         1.50
7 Think media                                       2.13
8 Antwerp BC                                        2.13
9 Hand in Hand Baal                                 2.25
10 Nieuwe Hoop Tielen                               2.34
11 Mixte (Asfra Meetjesland)                        4.00
12 Mez Team Belgium                                 5.20

Previous Results from Belgium