Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Trek Bikes Summer Series, Round 3

Heffron Park, Maroubra, January 21, 2002

Dangerfield dominates

By John Sunde

Dangerous Dangerfield
Photo: © John Sunde
Click for larger image

While a local was dominating the opening stage of the international Jacob's Creek Tour Down Under in Adelaide, an international was dominating round 3 of the local Trek Bikes Summer Series at Heffron Park. On a almost eerie summer night with smoke haze from the weekend's fires still hanging in the air, English international time trialist Stuart Dangerfield rode away from the field on the last lap to record an impressive win.

This week's round of the 12 week Series had a slightly smaller field than usual, but that didn't diminish the standard of racing or the grin on Anthony Spurgeon's face as he was presented with the Series Leaders Jersey at the beginning of the race.

With a good sized group of 24 riders, B grade had a perfect opportunity to hold off the much smaller A grade bunch of only 15 riders and maybe sneak in an overall win. Any chance of B grade working together was quickly thrown out the window when the group split on the first lap, by what can only be described as inexperience on the part of some over enthusiastic junior riders.

Perfect disorganisation for the smaller, but far better drilled A grade bunch to round up B grade with just under 7 laps to go. The much sought after sprint point bonuses were then evenly spread between A and B grade riders on laps 5 and 3 to go, before the bigger A grade motors put the hammer down and set about catching the largest bunch of the night, C grade which still had a reasonable 20sec advantage with to 2 go.

The race finally came together on the bell as Liam Kelly, fresh from his effort at the Nationals on the weekend with Stuey, Robbie and co, lead the very strung out bunch into the last lap. After attempting an earlier breakaway, this time Stuart Dangerfield timed his move to perfection into the wind and came down the straight with a comfortable 500m margin. In the scramble behind, pursuit world champion Steve Wooldridge held out St George clubmate Steve Fiztpatrick for 2nd, while rapidly improving Graeme Moffet got the points in front of King Spurge.

Matthew Bazzano, showed that experience does count for something, as he easily outclassed the B grade field as the only finisher with the A grade bunch, while Craig Dempsey made it an impressive 3 in a row to win C grade.

The overall win moves Stuart Dangerfield, (up the Poms!) into 2 points behind Anthony Spurgeon. Robbie Cater still holds a comfortable lead in the Sprint King competition and Craig Dempsey is out in front in the C grade competition.


Images by John Sunde


A Grade
1 Stuart Dangerfield (England)
2 Steve Wooldridge (Modifiers-Squadra/St George)
3 Steve Fitzpatrick (St George)
4 Graeme Moffet (Trek Bikes)
5 Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)
B Grade
1 Mathew Bazzano (St George)
C Grade
1 Craig Dempsey (Easts)
2 Dave Jackson (Randwick Botany)
3 Frank Fortuna (St George)
Trek Bikes Pointscore    
1 Anthony Spurgeon (A)           12 
2 Stuart Dangerfield (A)         10 
3 Robert Cater (B)                7 
4 Stewart Campbell (A)            6 
5 Matt White (A)                  4 
5 Steve Wooldridge (A)            4 
6 Liam Kelly (A)                  3 
6 Steve Fitzpatrick (A)           3 
7 Graeme Moffet (A)               2 
8 Jose Rodriguez (A)              1 
A/B Grade Sprint King   
1 Robert Cater (B)               39 
2 Anthony Spurgeon (A)           15 
3 Chris Jenkins (B)              14 
4 Patrick Jones (B)              10 
5 Stuart Dangerfield (A)          8 
6 John Kenny (B)                  4 
6 Stewart Campbell (A)            4 
7 Paul Rowney (A)                 3 
7 Matt White (A)                  3 
7 Steve Wooldridge (A)            3 
8 Liam Kelly (A)                  1 
8 Steve Williams (A)              1 
8 Dave Stewart (A)                1 
8 Steve Fitzpatrick (A)           1 
C Grade Pointscore    
1 Craig Dempsey                  15 
2 Roger Shackleton                6 
3 Dave Jackson                    3 
4 Stefan Borunivic                1 
4 Tim Rice                        1 
4 Frank Fortuna                   1 

Australian results from the past week

CATS CC Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC Criterium
Canberra CC Summer Criterium Series #10
Taroona Time Trial
Carnegie Caulfield CC Criterium - Sunday
Bunbury CC Criterium
Randwick-Botany CC Criterium - Saturday
St Kilda CC Criterium


Complete Australian results for 2003