Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

47th Vuelta Asturias - 2.2

Spain, May 13-17, 2003

2002 Results     Stage List    Preview     Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - May 13: Oviedo - Llanes, 166.3 km
  • Stage 2 - May 14: Llanes - Gijón, 153.0 km
  • Stage 3 - May 15: Gijón - Avilés, 166.7 km
  • Stage 4 - May 16: Cafés Toscaf - Santuario del Acebo, 180.2 km
  • Stage 5 - May 17: Cangas del Narcea - Oviedo, 164.2 km


The 47th edition of the Vuelta Asturias will also incorporate the Subida al Naranco this year, extending the event to six days. Although the final classification of the Vuelta Asturias will be decided on Saturday, May 17, most of the riders will participate in Sunday's race as well.

The Vuelta is a fairly standard five stage race weighted towards the mountain specialists, as it contains plenty of climbs and no time trials. Stage 1 from Oviedo to Llanes is over 166 kilometres, with a couple of moderate climbs situated near the end of the stage to make it interesting. The second stage from Llanes to Gijon is a little bit tougher, featuring one Cat. 3 and two Cat. 2 climbs in the final 60 km, with the finish in Gijon at the bottom of a descent. Stage 3 takes the riders over the Cat. 1 climb of Alto de San Lorenzo, located roughly halfway through the stage. If the sprinters make it over this, then they have an easy run to the finish in Aviles.

The fourth stage is the toughest of the tour, starting in Cafés Toscaf and finishing atop the Santuario del Acebo, a Special Category climb of 1172 metres. The other obstacles during the stage include the Cat. 1 Pozo de las Mujeres Muertas (1096m, km 97) and the Special Category Puerto del Connio (1315m, km 140). The final stage is from Cangas del Narcea to Oviedo, over 164 kilometres. It contains a slightly tricky finish but by that stage, the classification should be determined.

The Subida al Naranco on Sunday will provide the riders with an extra challenge. Finishing on the Cat. 1 climb of Naranco (590m, 5.2 km at 6.5%), the race is traditionally won by the strongest climber in the pack, as it usually comes together by the foot of the final climb. However this year may be different, with five hard days of racing preceding it.

The race will feature last weekend's Alcobendas winner Joseba Beloki (ONCE-Eroski), who is right on track for the Tour de France. Also Santiago Botero (Telekom), who finished third in Alcobendas, his first race in Europe this year, will contest the Vuelta Asturias. It's possible that Oscar Sevilla (Kelme) will ride in the Subida al Naranco, providing he has recovered sufficiently from an operation to remove a boil.

Start list


Past winners

2002 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita)  
2001 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa)
2000 Joseba Beloki (Spa) Festina
1999 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros
1998 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) ONCE
1997 Manuel Fernandez-Gines (Spa)
1996 Miguel Indurain (Spa)
1995 Beat Zberg (Swi)
1994 Abraham Olano (Spa)
1993 Erik Breukink (Ned)
1992 Alex Zülle (Swi)
1991 Pjotr Ugrumow (Let)
1990 Raul Alcala (Mex)
1989 Gert-Jan Theunisse (Ned)
1988 Rolf Gölz (Ger)
1987 Inaki Gaston (Spa)
1986 J. Rodriguez Magro (Spa)
1985 Jesus Blanco-Villar (Spa)
1984 Faustino Ruperez (Spa)
1983 Pedro Munoz (Spa)
1982 Jesus Ibanez (Spa)
1981 Angel Arroyo (Spa)
1980 Faustino Ruperez (Spa)
1979 A. Fernandez-Blanco (Spa)
1978 E. Martinez-Heredia (Spa)
1977 Vicente Lopez-Carril (Spa)
1976 Santiago Lazcano (Spa)
1975 Miguel-Maria Lasa (Spa)
1974 Sentisteban (Spa)
1973 Jesus Manzaneque (Spa)
1972 Augustine Tamames (Spa)
1971 Edouardo Castello (Spa)
1970 Antonio Martos (Spa)
1969 Andres Oliva (Spa)
1968 Jesus Manzaneque (Spa)
1957 Federico Bahamontes (Spa)
1956 Hernan (Spa)
1955 Federico Bahamontes (Spa)
1954 Bernardo Ruiz (Spa)
1953 Antonio Gelabert (Spa)
1950 Miguel Gual (Spa)
1947 Emilio Rodriguez (Spa)
1928 Riccardo Mucio (Spa)
1927 Miguel Mucio (Spa)
1926 Riccardo Montero (Spa)
1925 Barruetabena (Spa)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,