Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

McLane Pacific Bicycle Classic - NE

Merced, California, USA, March 22-23, 2003

Main Page    Results    Next Stage

Downtown Criterium

Fraser continues streak, Teutenberg victorious

By Kristy Scrymgeour

Today was the first day of the McLane Pacific Bicycle Classic contested in Merced, California. Traditionally considered the first real test for U.S. Teams to show their stuff amongst a field that includes all the major North American Pro teams, the field was 150 strong for the men and 90 for the women, a testament to the depth of the North American racing scene this year.

Celebrating the 10th anniversary of the race, the women's field featured the last two defending champions, Tina Mayolo-Pic (Diet Rite) and Ina Teutenberg (Saturn). Today's criterium, held under sunny skies and warm temperatures was contested on an 0.8 mile, six-corner, fast, flat course in downtown Merced. In total, the women covered 32 miles in the 40 lap event. From the gun, the fast pace was initiated by an attack from Teutenberg which resulted in riders rapidly being dropped form the bunch.

Saturn and T-Mobile riders continued to attack putting more pressure on the field. Eventually a break of three formed that would stay away for the majority of the race. The riders were Teutenberg, Kristin Armstrong (T-Mobile), and a Katie Safford from the Los Angeles based Minute Maid squad. With constant attacks from the field behind and determination by the Diet Rite Team to be represented in the break, the race came back together.

Immediately, Teutenberg attacked yet again, forming what would prove to be a winning move. Joining her in the decisive break was Dede Demet-Barry (T-Mobile) and Carla Koehler (Minute Maid). Teutenberg, known for her sprinting prowess took the win over Demet-Barry, with Tike coming in third. Immediately after the race Carla disappeared to the hospital to treat a cut hand that she hurt before the race. Quite an impressive result, considering. A very pleased Teutenberg noted "It was a fast race from the beginning, it was cool to see so many women keen on racing hard" When speaking of her form, "I certainly don't have the high end power in my legs, but I felt really good in the last eight laps, definitely better than I did at this time last year."

Following the women, the men raced 50 laps for a total of 40 miles on the same course. One of the favorites for the men's race was undoubtedly last year's defending champion, Gord Fraser, of Health Net Cycling Team who is fresh off winning three stages of the Pomona Valley Stage Race just two weeks ago. Primes early in the race encouraged an aggressive pace from the beginning with Mike Sayers (Health Net) taking the prime on the opening lap.

Forcing the blistering pace most aggressively however was the Saturn Team, which was represented in every break, most notably by Eric Wohlberg, who along with Kevin Monahan (7up-Maxxis) and Chann McRae (Schroeder Iron), contributed to a ten-man break which lasted for much of the race. With more breaks forming and being caught, the race was destined for a sprint finish. Saturn had eight guys lined up for the last three laps appearing to have it all wrapped up, however Fraser, on the heels of Sayers was tucked comfortably behind and won in a tight finish from Miguel Meza (Shroeder Iron), and Jonas Carney (Prime Alliance).

The McLane Pacific Classic continues tomorrow with the Foothills Road Race, a 120 mile event for the men, and a 95 mile event for the women. Always a difficult race with traditionally windy conditions, it should certainly prove to be a challenging race.


Images by Jeff Tse/

More images by Jeff Tse/

Images by Merlock Athletic Associaton/Mclane Pacific

Images by Steve Scott


1 Gord Fraser (HealthNet)
2 Miquel Meza (Schroeder Iron)
3 Jonas Carney (Prime Alliance)
4 Charles Dionne (Saturn)
5 Ivan Dominqoe (Saturn)
6 Greg Henderson (7UP)
7 Dean Laberge (Lombardi)
8 Todd Littlehales (Sierra Nevada)
9 Kevin Monahan (7 UP Maxxis)
10 Alex Candelario (Prime Alliance)
11 Russell Hamby (Ofoto Lombardi)
12 Michael Tillman (Schroeder Iron)
13 Peter Mazur (Lemond)
14 Steve Larsen (Webcor )
15 John Peters (Prime Alliance)
16 Matt Dubberley (Sierra Nevada)
17 Chann Mcrae (Schroeder Iron)
18 Jacob Erker (Schroeder Iron)
19 Andy Bajadali (Ofoto Lombardi)
20 Marco Aledia (Lemond)
21 Dan Schmatz (7 UP Maxxis)
22 Chris Pic (7 UP Maxxis)
23 Victor Ayala (Minute Maid Dasani)
24 Adam Livingston (Schroeder Iron)
25 Jackson Stewart (Ofoto Lombardi)
26 Ramon Peter (Ofoto Lombardi)
27 Karl Bordine (Colavita)
28 NA
29 Brice Jones (7 UP Maxxis)
30 Roberto Gaggioli (Team Monex)
31 Tim Larkin (Ofoto Lombardi)
32 David Clinger (Prime Alliance)
33 Troy White (Sierra Nevada)
34 Chris Horner (Saturn)
35 Jason Lokkesmoe (HealthNet)
36 Alex Kozlov (HealthNet)
37 Nieko Biskner (Sierra Nevada)
38 Glen Mitchell (Navigators)
39 Eneas Freyre (Lemond)
40 Jason Bausch (Schroeder Iron)
41 John Lieswyn (7 UP Maxxis)
42 Dave Wenger (Team West Virginia)
43 Devon Weekes (Ofoto Lombardi)
44 Greg Medinilla (Team Monex)
45 Ryan Guay (Navigators)
46 Mike Sayers (HealthNet)
47 Frank Pipp (ABD Cycling)
48 Bryson Perry (Healthy Choice-Gurus)
49 Jason Klikna (Sierra Nevada)
50 Peter Lopinto (Ofoto Lombardi)
1 Ina Teutenberg (Saturn Cycling)
2 Dede Barry (T-Mobile)
3 Carla Koehler (Minute Maid/Dasani/La Grange)
4 Tina Manolo-Pic (Diet Rite)
5 Laura Van Gilder (Saturn Cycling)
6 Nicole Freedman (Basis)
7 Katie Safford (Minute Maid/Dasani/La Grange)
8 Trudy Bjornsen (Fairfield Toyota)
9 Sarah Tillotson (ABD)
10 Laura Charamedo (Swift)
11 Meridith Miller (Team Sats)
12 Cynthia Mommsen (Olympic Club)
13 Heather Cole (Fairfield Toyota)
14 Helen Kelly (TDS Telecom)
15 Patricia Bell (Team Tailwinds)
16 Lynn Gaggioli (Tandem Bike House)
17 Dotsie Cowden (T-Mobile)
18 Lara Kroepsch (T Mobile)
19 Joan Wilson (TDS Telecom)
20 Katheryn Curl 
21 Kristin Armstrong (T Mobile)
22 Graciela Martinez (Victory Brewing)
23 Katherine Maher (Team Basis)
24 NA
25 Katy St-Laurent 
26 Kristin Drumm Collins (Team Spine)
27 Brenna Wolford (Palo Alto)
28 Rachel Couch (0)
29 Melissa Sanborn (Hutch's)
30 NA
31 Brenda Lyons (Nor-Cal Velo)
32 Benassi Maatje (ICO)
33 Kelly Benjamin (ABD Cycling)
34 Trine Hansen (Team SATS)
35 Helene Drumm (Team Spine)
36 Cat Malone (Alto Velo)
37 Dede Barry (T Mobile)
38 Veronica Martinez (Victory Brewing)
39 Amy Moore (Saturn Cycling)
40 NA
41 Cheryl Roth (Helens/Trek/VW)
42 Manon Jutras (Saturn)
43 Lyne Bessette (Saturn Cycling)
44 Anya Hinkle (3BRT/CFAC)
45 Nicole Brandt (Minute Maid/Dasani/La Grange)
46 NA
47 Dara Rogers (Helens/Trek/VW)
48 NA
49 Crystal Yap (Healthy Choice)