Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Cape Argus Pick 'n Pay Cycle Tour - NE

South Africa, March 16, 2003

2002 Results    Results    Past winners

Lange lands second Pick 'n Pay

Numbers for mass rides are always contentious because plenty of participants in some don't bother to register, but with 40,000 participants the Cape Argus Pick 'n Pay Cycle Tour has a solid claim to be the biggest, and up front it also has racing categories. The huge field and consequent media attention make this one of South Africa's most prestigious races, and this year's winner Malcolm Lange (Microsoft) was clearly delighted with his victory, telling reporters . "I am thrilled to have taken this title again and worked really hard with my team to achieved this. I did not participate in the Giro del Capo this year to save myself for the big race and it paid off."

Lange escaped with a small break at the 2km to go mark after an edgy race in which nobody was allowing any chances to slip away. On the line, Lange out-sprinted Germany's Armin Kroniger and Enrico Poitschke to add a second trophy to the one he won in 1998.

Also landing a repeat win was Lange's fellow South African Anriette Schoeman who made it two in a row after her 2002 victory.

Results, 109km

1 Malcolm Lange (RSA) Microsoft     2.29.59
2 Armin Kroniger
3 Enrico Poitschke
4 Alberto Eli
5 Jeff Howes
6 Luke Roberts
7 Conradie Siebrits
8 Lars Breiseth
9 Adrian Ilsley
10 Michael Precechtel
1 Anriette Schoeman                 2.53.54
2 Ronel van Wyk                        1.55
3 Anke Erlank                          2.30
4 Pia Sunstedt                         2.30
5 Hanlie Booyens                       2.30
6 Else Korsten                         2.30
7 Engela Conradie                      4.53
8 Adele Janse van Vuuren               4.53
9 Nicolene Scheepers                   4.53
10 Rose Macintosh                      4.53 

Past winners

     Men                  Women  
2002 Alan Davis (Aus)     Anriette Schoeman (RSA)