Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

3rd Giro Della Liguria - 2.3

Italy, February 19-22, 2003

Main Page     Results     Previous Stage     Next Stage

Stage 2 - February 20: Pietra Ligure-Andora, 150.4km

Giuseppe Palumbo wins stage 2

The Lampre riders
Photo: © Sirotti
Click for larger image

Giuseppe Palumbo has taken the second stage in the Giro della Liguria, run over 150 km between Pietra Ligure and Andora. The De Nardi-Colpack rider won a 50 man bunch sprint, beating Paolo Bossoni (Sidermec) and Fabio Baldato (Alessio). Thanks to his second position today and a time bonus, Paolo Bossoni moved into the overall lead, in front of Palumbo and Popovych.

The first part of the stage was run at a fairly steady pace, with Elia Aggiano (Formaggi Pinzolo) taking the first mountain sprint at 7.5 km. After that there was an attack by Canadian rider Dominique Perras (, who gained 1'15 before he was caught 10 km later.

Giuseppe Palumbo crosses the line to win
Photo: © Sirotti
Click for larger image

The second GPM at Menosio (km 49) was again won by Elia Aggiano, ahead of Danilo Di Luca (Saeco) and Michele Scarponi (Domina Vacanze). The peloton remained together for the third climb at Calderara (km 76), which was again won by Aggiano in front of Fredy Gonzalez (Colombia-Selle Italia) and Raffaele Illiano (Colombia-Selle Italia).

After 95 km, there was an attack by Graziano Gasparre (De Nardi) and Mikahylo Khalilov (Colombia-Selle Italia), the pair gaining at most 30" on the fast moving peloton. However their attack caused a split in the peloton with 30 riders going clear - importantly without race leader Andrea Ferrigato.

With 15 km to go, these front 30 were caught by another 21 riders, to form a 50 rider peloton racing for the stage win. Despite attacks by Daniele Nardello, Lorenzo Bernucci, Vladimir Duma and Nico Mattan, no riders were able to escape and it was Giuseppe Palumbo who triumphed in front of Paolo Bossoni and Fabio Baldato.

Tomorrow there will be two stages of the Giro della Liguria: a 45.8 km stage in the morning, including one GPM, followed by an afternoon mountain time trial of 11.6 km in length.


Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti


1 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) De Nardi-Colpack             4.23.35 (36.945 km/h)
2 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Sidermec
3 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Alessio
4 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Domina Vacanze-Elitron
5 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
6 Gabriele Calducci (Ita) Sidermec
7 Janek Tombak (Est) Cofidis
8 Francesco Belotti (Ita) Team Scanalino
9 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
10 Matthew Wilson (Aus)
General classification after stage 1
1 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Sidermec                        7.55.29 (38.269 km/h)
2 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) De Nardi-Colpack                0.02
3 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago        0.08
4 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Alessio
5 Janek Tombak (Est) Cofidis                             0.12
6 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Domina Vacanze-Elitron
7 Matthew Wilson (Aus)
8 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Saeco
9 Graziano Gasparre (Ita) De Nardi-Colpack
10 Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Sidermec

Points classification
1 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Sidermec-Saunier Duval
Mountains classification 
1 Elia Aggiano (Ita) Formaggi Pinzolo-Fiavè

Young Rider classification
1 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago