Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

8th GP Costa degli Etruschi - 1.3

Italy, February 2, 2003

2002 Results    Results    Past winners

Kirsipuu triumphs in Italian opener

Happy Jaan
Photo: © Sirotti
Click for larger image

Estonian sprinter Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2r) has opened his palmares for 2003, winning the first Italian race of the season, GP Costa degli Etruschi. Kirsipuu outsprinted Sidermec's Fred Rodriguez, Austrian speedster Werner Riebenbauer (Team fakta) and World Cup champ Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) at the end of the 192 km race in Donoratico, bringing his victory total (92) ever closer to that magical 100 mark.

The eighth edition of the GP Etruschi was dominated by a 10 man breakaway that started at km 60. The group reached a maximum lead of 3'00 at km 121, but was gradually pulled back by the peloton in time for the finish. A counterattack by Casagrande, Bettini and two others failed in the closing stages, although Bettini did manage to recover to take fourth in the sprint behind Kirsipuu, Rodriguez and Riebenbauer.


Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

  • Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2r) celebrates as he crosses the line ahead of Fred Rodriguez (Sidermec-Saunier Duval) and Werner Riebenbauer (Team fakta)
  • Jaan Kirsipuu acknowledges the crowd from the podium
  • Jaan Kirsipuu gets congratulated
  • Jaan Kirsipuu on the podium with Rodriguez (left) and Riebenbauer (right)

Results - 192 km

1 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r-Prevoyance                4.50.00 (39.724 km/h)
2 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Sidermec-Saunier Duval
3 Werner Riebenbauer (Aut) Team fakta
4 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick Step-Davitamon
5 Uros Murn (Slo) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiave
6 Massimiliano Mori (Ita) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiave
7 Saulis Ruskys (Lit) Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf)
8 Thierry Masschelein (Bel) Flanders -
9 Guiseppe Palumbo (Ita) De Nardi - Colpack
10 Yuriy Metlushenko (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
11 Giacomo Battistel (Ita) Amore & Vita - Beretta
12 Christophe Stevens (Bel) Marlux - Wincor Nixdorf
13 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Domina Vacanze - Elitron
14 Rafael Nuritdinov (Uzb) De Nardi - Colpack
15 Kurt Asle Arvesen (Nor) Team fakta
16 Markus Knöpfle (Ger) Temax
17 Mateusz Mroz (Pol) Amore & Vita - Beretta
18 Bostjan Mervar (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj
19 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Flanders -
20 Johan Coenen (Bel) Marlux - Wincor Nixdorf
21 Francesco Cipolletta (Ita)
22 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance

Past winners

2002 Yuriy Metluschenko (Ukr) Colnago-Landbouwkrediet
2001 Nicola Gavazzi (Ita)
2000 Mario Cipollini (Ita)
1999 Endrio Leoni (Ita)
1998 Mario Cipollini (Ita)
1997 Biago Conte (Ita)
1996 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita)