Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

18th Veenendaal - Veenendaal - 1.2

Netherlands, April 24, 2003

2002 Results   Results    Past winners

First season win for Van Bon

Dutchman Leon van Bon (Lotto-Domo) has taken his first victory of the season in the 18th edition of Veenendaal - Veenendaal, a 1.2 race in the Netherlands. Van Bon beat his friend and training partner Marc Wauters (Rabobank) in a two man sprint, after chasing down a solo attack by Wauters with 5 km to go. Third place went to Robbie McEwen (Lotto-Domo), who was the quickest of a group of four riders.

The 209 km race was run at a fast tempo (45.6 km/h) in good conditions, with little wind. After an early break of 10 was recaptured, a leading group of 13 riders formed, including Van Bon, McEwen, Van Dijk, and Vierhouten (all Lotto-Domo), Wauters (Rabobank), Arvesen, Bak, Vestöl (Team fakta), Schmitz, Koerts, Pronk (BankGiroLoterij), Van Agtmaal and Lucassen (Axa).

The group split in the closing phase of the race with Van Bon, McEwen, Wauters, Arvesen, Bak, and Schmitz forming a break of six. Wauters attacked with 6 km to go, and only Van Bon went with him, easily accounting for the Belgian in the sprint.

Results - 208.5 km

1 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Lotto-Domo                     4.34.14 (45.61 km/h)
2 Marc Wauters (Bel) Rabobank
3 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Domo                       0.12
4 Bram Schmitz (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Team
5 Kurt-Asle Arvesen (Nor) Team fakta
6 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Team fakta
7 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Lotto-Domo                     1.07
8 Jans Koerts (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Team
9 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Lotto-Domo
10 Matthé Pronk (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Team
11 Björnar Vestöl (Nor) Team fakta
12 Jos Lucassen (Ned) Axa Cycling Team
13 Peter Van Agtmaal (Ned) Axa Cycling Team
14 Rudi Kemna (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Team       1.17
15 Tom Steels (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
16 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank
17 Igor Abakoumov (Bel) Van Hemert Groep
18 Julien Smink (Ned) Van Hemert Groep
19 Roy Sentjes (Ned) Rabobank
20 Paul Van Schalen (Ned) Axa Cycling Team
21 James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim
22 René Jörgensen (Den) Team fakta
23 Jan Faltynek (Cze) eD'system-ZVVZ
24 Arthur Farenhout (Ned) Axa Cycling Team
25 Wouter Van Mechelen (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim
26 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Domo
27 Mart Louwers (Ned) Axa Cycling Team
28 Kevin Van Impe (Bel) Lotto-Domo
29 Marvin Van Der Pluijm (Ned) Bert Story-Piels
30 Bart Bastiaens (Bel) Team Down Under
31 Thomas Gronqvist (Swe) Team fakta
32 Jos Harms (Ned) Bert Story-Piels
33 Jan Verstraeten (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim
34 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank
35 Michael Skelde (Den) Team fakta
36 Robert Hunter (RSA) Rabobank
37 Jeroen Boelen (Ned) Van Hemert Groep
38 Cameron Jennings (Aus) Team Down Under
39 Jorgen Bo Petersen (Den) Team fakta
40 Phillip Thuaux (Aus) Team Down Under
41 Marc Streel (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
42 Nick Gates (Aus) Lotto-Domo
43 Robert Bartko (Ger) Rabobank
44 Cees Jeurissen (Ned) Van Hemert Groep
45 Bart Voskamp (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Team
46 Allan Johansen (Den) Team fakta
47 Bert Hiemstra (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Team
48 Gerben Löwik (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Team
49 Stijn Devolder (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim
50 Gert Steegmans (Bel) Lotto-Domo                     1.48
51 Jan Van Velzen (Ned) BankGiroLoterij Cycling Tea    2.19
52 Roy Curvers (Ned) Van Hemert Groep                  3.00
53 Edward Dunning (Ned) Van Hemert Groep
54 Ruud Aerts (Ned) Van Hemert Groep                   3.32
55 Marcel Alma (Ned) Apac Cycling Team                 6.32
56 David Kupka (Cze) eD'system-ZVVZ                   12.35
57 Harm Bronkhorst (Ned) Apac Cycling Team
58 Tony Bracke (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
59 Erik Lievens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
60 Wesley Van Speybroeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
61 Jaarod Poad (Aus) Team Down Under

Courtesy of Bert Geerts

Past winners

2002 Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Rabobank         209 kms in 4.52.21 (42.976 km/h)
2001 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank        209 kms in 4.45.48 (43.9 km/h)
2000 Steven de Jongh (Ned) Rabobank        212 kms in 5.11.08 (40.8 km/h)
1999 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) TVM-Farm Frites 200 kms in 5.07.43 (39 km/h)
1998 Frank Hoj  (Den) Palmans-Ideal        209 kms in 4.56.24
1997 Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned) TVM
1996 Andrej Tchmil (Mda) Lotto
1995 Olaf Ludwig (Ger) Team Telekom
1994 Vjatcheslav Elimov (Rus) WordPerfect
1993 Rob Mulders (Ned) WordPerfect
1992 Jacques Hangraaf (Ned) Panasonic
1991 (2) Wiebren Veenstra (Ned) Buckler
1990 Wiebren Veesntra (Ned) Buckler
1989 Jean-Paul Van Poppel (Ned) Panasonic
1988 Ronny Vlassaks (Bel) Superconfex
1987 Johan Capiot (Bel) Roland
1986 No race
1985 Joop Zoetemelk (Ned) Kwantumhallen

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,