Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

28th Giro delle Regioni - 2.7.1

Italy, April 26-May 1, 2003

Main Page     Results     Previous Stage     Next Stage

Stage 4 - April 30: Serravalle Scrivia - Ovada, 118.6 km

Australian team report

By Brian Stephens, AIS U23 coach

Today's stage of the Giro delle Regioni started in Serravale Scrivia and followed a flat course for the first 50km before getting into the hills. The riders crossed some tough climbs on the around the area of Ovada, where the finish was. The race came to life in the final 40km and a group of 25, including Caleb Manion and most of the leaders on GC, got clear.

This group split again on the final circuit and 15 riders faced the judges at the finish. Caleb was in a great position for a big result but went down in a crash, which included about 5 riders, in the final metres. Because of the rule in which a rider does not lose time if he has a crash or mechanical problem in the final kilometre, Caleb does not lose any time (even though time gaps are given in the stage result) but he did lose an opportunity to win. He ended up running across the line. The stage was won by Denis Kostyuk from the Ukraine.


1 Denis Kostyuk (Ukr)             2.51.01 (41.610 km/h)
2 Mises Duenas Nevado (Esp)
3 Emanuele Sella (Ita)
4 Jesus Hernandez Blasquez (Spa)
5 Alexandr Bagenov (Rus)
6 Tomaz Nose (Slo)
7 Ludoz Pelanek (Cze)
8 Angel Gomez Gomez (Spa)
9 Massimo Ianetti (Ita)
10 Armale Moinard (Fra)
13 Claudio Corioni (Ita)             0.23
41 Davide Bragazzi (Ita)            11.30
55 Gianluca Moi (Ita)
46 Daniele Di Nucci (Ita)           43.49
General classification after stage 4
1 Kristian Fajt (Slo)            13.03.33 (39.261 km/h)
2 Tomaz Nose (Slo)                   0.59
3 Denis Kostyuk (Ukr)                1.22
4 Sergey Lagutin (Uzb)               1.31
5 Emanuele Sella (Ita)               1.35
6 Vladimir Gusev (Rus)               1.46
7 Moises Duenas Nevado (Spa)         1.54
8 Janez Brajkovic (Slo)              2.07
9 Alexandr Bajenov (Rus)             2.25
10 Ludos Pelanek (Cze)               2.53
19 Massimo Ianetti (Ita)             8.25
22 Claudio Corioni (Ita)            11.30
29 Gianluca Moi (Ita)               19.02
30 Davide Bragazzi (Ita)            21.04