Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

South Carolina Heritage Series - NE

USA, April 29-May 2, 2003

Main Page     Results     Previous Race     Next Race

Race 2 - April 30: Walterboro criterium, 50 miles

Navigators strike back

By Kristy Scrymgeour

Navigators proved once again that they are a force to be reckoned with on the domestic scene this season after notching another victory tonight at the hand of Oleg Grichkine in race two of the South Carolina Heritage Series. After an extremely successful European campaign which included a win by Grichkine in the G.P. Ville de Rennes in France followed by an impressive showing at last week's Tour de Georgia where Henk Vogels held the leader's jersey, they took the proverbial bull by the horns tonight amongst a classy field in Walterboro, SC.

The 80km criterium was raced around a 1.6km circuit consisting of six corners and once again the race was on right from the start. After only a few laps, Ofoto-Lombardi Sports rider, Stewart Jackson, got the ball rolling as he opened up a gap and took with him six others including Eric Wohlberg (Saturn), Grichkine, Mark Walters (Navigators), Jacob Erker (Schroeder Iron), Eddie Hilger (Fairway Suburu/Cyfac), and Frank Travieso (Aerospace Engineering).

Outnumbered in the break Wohlberg called on his team to try to send someone across to him "I was uncomfortable in that group of seven without any Saturn teammates," said Wohlberg. "I was doing all I could to slow the pace, and hoping someone could bridge." Chris Horner attempted to repeat his effort of last night by making the jump from the peloton to the break in solo fashion; however his attempts were in vain as the pace in the break remained too furious eventually gaining 40 seconds.

Recognizing that none of his teammates were going to be joining him, Wohlberg went to plan B. "I went for the prime, then just kept going," Wohlberg said of his attack. Only Grichkine managed to pick the move and he clung to Wohlberg's wheel as they rode away from the other five.

The duo continued to increase their gap and lapping the field soon became inevitable. It was with 16 laps to go that they reached the rear end of the peloton, bringing team dynamics back into play for the finishing stretch. Meanwhile, the 5 remaining riders from the original break were still away but losing ground quickly. Walters made a last ditch effort to stay away and secure a podium spot by attacking his group of five but a hard chasing peloton led by Saturn would not have it and consumed the break.

With two laps to go, it was a battle between Saturn and Navigators as they lined up to prepare their lead outs for their respective teammates who had lapped the field. Navigators came out on top as Grichkine edged out Wohlberg for the victory. As a bonus, Navigators managed to snag the third spot as strong man, Vogels, captured the sprint from the rest of the field. "My goal is to do well this weekend," said Vogels. "Right now, we're just trying to get as many wins as we can."

Tomorrow's race is a four corner criterium set in Greenwood, yet another section of the Heritage Corridor.


1 Oleg Grichkine (Navigators)
2 Eric Wohlberg (Saturn)
3 Henk Vogels (Navigators)
4 Miguel Meza (Schroeder Iron)
5 Viktor Rapinski (Saturn)
6 Jeff Hopkins (Jittery Joe's)
7 Chris Horner (Saturn)
8 Robbie Ventura (USPS)
9 Brent Dawson (Jelly Belly)
10 Vassili Davidenko (Navigators)
11 Tim Larkin (Ofoto-Lombardi)
12 Ryan Oelkers (
13 David O'Laughlin (Ofoto-Lombardi Sports)
14 Jason Waddell (Mathis Brothers)
15 Erik Saunders (Ofoto-Lombardi Sports)
16 Roberto Gaggioli (Monex)
17 Ivan Dominguez (Saturn)
18 Ryan DeWald (Lite Bites)
19 Ryan Guay (Navigators)
20 Adam Meyerson (
21 Joe Papp (UPMC)
22 John Murphy (Krystal)
23 Chuck Coyle (Vitamin Cottage)
24 James Taylor (OLP Racing)
25 Chris Frederick (Aerospace Engineering)
26 Mike Tillman (Schroeder Iron)
27 Marty Nothstein (Navigators)
28 Pete Lopinto
29 Josh Seldman (Krystal)
30 Jeff Orr (Aerospace Engineering)
31 Cameron Hughes (Schroeder Iron)
32 Jonny Sundt (Jittery Joe's)
33 Mike Zingaro (CycleScience)
34 Chad Hartley (Jittery Joe's)
35 Steve Speaks (Lite Bites)
36 Steve McUjeak (Aerospace Engineering)
37 Rahsaan Bahati (Saturn)
38 Mike Proctor (Fairway  Subaru/Cyfac)
39 Matthew Svatek (
40 Boyd Johnson (Carolina VW)
41 Steve Spencer (Locos)
42 Jason Bausch (Schroeder Iron)
43 Torsten Wambold (OLP Racing)
44 Travis Hutchinson (Krystal)
45 Mark Light (Lite Bites)
46 Nick Kiernan (Mathis Brothers)
47 Todd Sanders (Cycle Science)
48 Jackson Stewart
49 Guillaume Nelessen (
50 Garrett Wonders (Carolina VW)
51 Jason Snow (CycleScience)
52 Siro Camponogara (Navigators)
53 Ricardo Ortega (Aerospace Engineering)
54 Chad Gibson (Cycles De Oro)
55 Darren Fuller (Fairway Subaru/Cyfac)
56 Jim Baldesare (West Virginia)
57 Patrick O'Donnell
58 Tim Henry (West Virginia)
59 Chandler Weekes (Fairway Subaru/Cyfac)
60 Chris Harkey (Fairway Subaru/Cyfac)