Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Trofeo Banca Popolare Piva - 1.7.1 (U23 CDM)

Col San Martino, Veneto, Italy, April 6, 2003

2002 Results   Results    Past winners

It can only get better

By Brian Stephens, Australian U23 Team Manager

Sunday's race was at Col San Martino in Veneto and was an Under 23 World Cup event. The course consisted of a hilly 24km circuit for three laps followed by another tough, hilly circuit of 14km for another seven laps.

The team consisted of Peter Dawson, Bernard Sulzberger, Aaron Kemps, Lee Godfrey and David Betts with Caleb Manion joining the team from his Italian club, Bibabese. Bruce McIntosh was also riding for his Italian club, San Dona.

If we had a bad day Saturday, it was worse on Sunday. Brendan Cato, Lee Godfrey, Sulzberger and Aaron Kemps all had crashes throughout the day which each of which put an end to their chances. Bruce McIntosh also had a crash and had to spend a lot of energy getting back. Peter Dawson lasted until two and a half laps to the end before being dropped and Caleb lasted one more lap to be our best performer. 30 of the original 195 starters, got to the finish which was won by Russian, Alexander Bazhenov, riding for the Italian, Cotto Ref team.

Gene Bates is steadily recovering from his broken collar bone and has more x-rays tomorrow. Hopefully we get some good news about his return to racing soon.

Results - 170 km

1 Alexander Bajenov (Rus) Cotto Ref                  4.29.53 (37.861 km/h)
2 Mirko Allegrini (Ita) Uc Trevigiani Dynamon           0.36
3 Denis Kostyuk (Ukr) Zoccorinese Palazzago            
4 Mirco Lorenzetto (Ita) Marchiol Famila Site           0.55
5 Mariusz Wiesiak (Pol) Pacific Daver
6 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Velo Club Mendrisio
7 Luca Conati (Ita) Zalf Desiree Fior
8 Wilfried Marget (Fra) Cyber Team
9 Matic Strgar (Slo) Radenska Rog
10 Daniele Colli (Ita) Zalf Desiree Fior

Starters: 195
Classified: 34

Past winners

2002 Mirko Lorenzetto (Ita) Marchiol Hit
2001 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,