Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

4th Univest Grand Prix - 1.6

USA, September 21, 2002

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Herriott ends the Euro dominance in the men

France's Longo dominates the women

Jeannie Longo
Photo: © Celia J Cole
Click for larger image

Pennsylvania bike racing fans were treated to great racing Saturday afternoon as first France's Jeanne Longo soloed to victory at the 33 mile (53 km) Univest Women's Grand Prix, then New York's Todd Herriott followed suit in the 100 mile (161 km) men's race.

Longo is the ageless giant of women's bike racing. She sets a goal, then achieves it. This year, she came to Univest with the intention of winning. Four laps into the 20-lap, 33-mile race, she attacked hard. Only Pennsylvania's Laura Van Gilder (Trek Plus), and Canada's Leah Goldstein (Amoroso's/HH Racing), a Pennsylvania team, could follow. For 12 laps, the international trio traded pulls, then Longo decided she had enough. She put in one attack, and she was gone. She quickly established a 47 second gap and held it to the finish. Van Gilder outdueled Goldstein for second place. Sue Palmer-Komar of Canada and Talgo America took fourth almost four minutes behind third place.

Todd Herriot
Photo: © Celia J Cole
Click for larger image

The men's race, 168 strong, was aggressive from the first mile. At that point, West Virginia-GoMart's national road champion, Scottie Weiss took off. When the top amateur in the country is going for broke, someone better follow. Pennsylvania's Tim Reinhart (Saturn Development) and California's James Mattis (Webcor/Alto Velo) took up the chase. The trio, led across to Reinhart, took the first sprint and kept on going. Several riders bridged up and the race was at full bore. Despite the size, the field held the break at 30-45 seconds through the rest of the 62 mile loop.

Weiss and GoMart were the riders of the day, they kept in the lead group the whole way. Weiss was joined by teammate Peter Baker, Bianchi/Grandperformance's Pete Knudsen of Minnesota, and New Yorker Todd Herriott of CRCA/Think Racing. Weiss fell off the pace with four to go. Herriott had been strong on the backside climb all day and he pushed the pace each time up. On the penultimate climb, he made a little acceleration at the top and rode away. He roared to a 40-second lead and won solo. Behind, Kissena Cycling Team's Aussie, Cameron Hughes, caught the fading Baker and Knudsen and snagged second place in a three up sprint. Knudsen was third, and Baker fourth.


Images by Celia J Cole

Images by Alex Vaivars/West Virginia - GoMart Cycling Team mechanic


Men - 161 km

1 Todd Herriott (USA) CRCA/Think Racing                    4.00.22 (40.18 km/h)
2 Cameron Hughes (Aus) Kissena Cycling Team
3 Pete Knudsen (USA) Bianchi/Grand Performance
4 Peter Baker (USA) West Virginia-Gomart Cycling Team
5 Ted Huang (USA) Webcore/Alto Velo
6 Kirk Albers (USA) Ready Pac-KMK Sports Cycling Team
7 Sebastien Six (Fra) France/Alderfer Auction Co.
8 Peter Ghyllebert (Bel) Belgium/Etta Mae's Antique's Co
9 Eneas Freyre (USA) Kissena Cycling Team
10 Scottie Weiss (USA) West Virginia-Gomart Cycling Team
11 Pascal Lievens (Bel) Belgium/Etta Mae's Antique's Co
12 Wouter Mol (Ned) Team Moes-WIN/Holland
13 Greg Wolf (USA) Ideal Tile/Brielle Cyclery
14 Guiseppe Ribolizi (Swi) Team Jura Suisse-Nippon Hodo
15 Fabrice Paumier (Fra) France/Alderfer Auction Co.
16 Josh Beck (USA) Bean/LiteBites
17 Bill Innes (USA) Kissena Cycling Team
18 Jason Baer (USA) GS Mengoni USA
19 Stephane Delimauges (Fra) France/Alderfer Auction Co.
20 Jake Rosenbarager (USA) Ready Pac-KMK Sports Cycling 

Women - 53 km

1 Jeannie Longo (Fra)                                      1.27.48 (36.35 km/h)
2 Laura Van Gilder (USA) Trek Plus
3 Leah Goldstein (Can) Amoroso's/HH Racing
4 Sue Palmer-Komar (Can) Talgo America 
5 Heather Albert (USA)
6 Kori Kelly (USA)
7 Melissa Holt (NZl)
8 Kristen La Sasso (USA)
9 Tania Duff-Miller (NZl)
10 Sarah Tillotson (USA)
11 Sophie St-Jacques (Can)
12 Lauren Franges (USA)
13 Charmian Breon (USA)
14 Elizabeth Begosh (USA)
15 Jennifer Scott (USA)
16 Ann Turrin (Can)
17 Nicole Freedman (USA)
18 Frances Harrison (USA)
19 Marie Ann Miller (USA)
20 Kristy Gomes (USA)

Past winners


2001 Not held
2000 Bert Dewaele (USA)


2001 Not held
2000 Leigh Hobson (Can)