Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Norwegian National Road Championships - CN

Hønefoss, June 29-30, 2002

Main page   Results    Next day

Day 1 - June 29: Elite Men Road Race, 198.8 km

Third national title for Kurt-Asle Arvesen

By Jean-François Quénet in Honefoss
Kurt Asle-Arvesen
Photo: © AFP
Click for larger image

After winning in 1997 (also in Honefoss) and 1998, former U23 world champion Kurt-Asle Arvesen claimed his third national title in Honefoss, the home of Team Krone and the Ringerike SK, who Credit Agricole's Thor Hushovd belongs to. As Hushovd is the only Norwegian taking part in this year's Tour de France - US Postal has not selected Steffen Kjaergaard despite his generous services in the two last editions - the local crowd cheered for him in order to see the national colours on TV next month.

But there was nothing to do against the in form Arvesen, recently crowned in the Tour of Sweden. Team Krone - who had the advantage of the number of riders - put the hammer down from the start but didn't surprise any of the four members of top teams. At the end, the eight best riders in Norway composed the breakaway. With two laps to go, EDS-Fakta's Bjonar Vestol attacked, just one kilometer before crossing the finishing line, he was later rejoined by Team Krone's Gabriel Rasch and defending champion Erlend Engelsvoll from Sandnes.

Arvesen was inspired by the attack from his team-mate and did the same in order to avoid a final sprint against Hushovd. Smart move. "It is very important for me to win at home in Norway, he said. I was not the strongest in the climb but I took my chance in the last downhill."

He's now one of the five record men of the Norwegian national champions, and he's in the process of becoming the most famous of them.


Images by Gunnar Mjaugedal/


1 Kurt Asle Arvesen (EDS-Fakta/Nesset CK)             4.53.56
2 Steffen Kjærgaard (US Postal/Glåmdal-Nitted)           0.04
3 Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole/Ringer.SK)
4 Morten Hegreberg (Sandnes SK)
5 Gabriel Rasch (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
6 Mads Kaggestad (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
7 Erlend Engelsvoll (Sandnes SK)                         0.08
8 Bjørnar Vestøl (EDS-Fakta/Grimstad SK)                 1.32
9 Morten Christiansen (Sandnes SK)                       4.54
10 Are Andresen (Kristiansand CK)
11 Petter Jørgensen (Hasle-Løren IL)                    13.25
12 Stig Sverre Holmsen (Fana IL Sykkel)                 13.57
13 Roy Sønsterud (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)              13.57
14 Børre F. Halvorsen (Bærum OCK)                       15.10
15 Bjørn Erik Indset (Nesset CK)                        16.39
16 Andreas Sand (Bærum OCK)                             34.39
17 Stig Lunde (Stavanger SK)
18 Stian Nørve (Ålesund OCK)
19 Truls Haugseth (Drammen CK)
20 Kristian Ellertsen (CK Bjørgvin)
21 Per Martin Lund (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
22 Christian E. Dahl (IF Frøy)
23 Bjarte Vethe (Voss SK)
24 Morten Stordal (CK Bjørgvin)
25 Fredrik Løfsgaard (Asker CK)
26 Frode Andresen (Ringerike SK)
27 Marius Nyhammer (CK Bjørgvin)
28 Kenneth Solhem (Vennesla OCK)
29 Trond Kristian Schweder (Drammen CK)
30 Kjetil G. Løitegaard (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
31 Frode Michalsen (Hasle-Løren IL)
32 Per Gunnar Mustad (Kragerø SK)
33 Geir Bisgård (Arendal CC)
34 Geir Kåsa (Grenland SK)
35 Idar Bækken (Bærum OCK)                              38.39
36 Idar Kvamme (Stavanger SK)
37 Stian A. Risberg (Ringerike SK)
38 Mats Larsen (IF Frøy)
39 Eirik Helgesen (Fana IL Sykkel)
40 Nils Einar Grutle (Fana IL Sykkel)
41 Terje Tho (Trondhjems VK)
42 Kristian Riise Næss (IF Frøy)
43 Rune Stordal (CK Bjørgvin)                           44.39
44 Svein S. Stalsberg (Grenland SK)
DNF Egil Andreas Aasheim (SK Rye)
DNF Lars Ellingsen (Grenland SK)
DNF Marius Jørgensen (Bærum OCK)
DNF Knut Borbe (Bærum OCK)
DNF Stian Remme (Fana IL Sykkel)
DNF Raymond Gjæringen (Fana IL Sykkel)
DNF Øyvind Dybing (Fana IL Sykkel)
DNF Roar Frøseth (Nesset CK)
DNF Martin Vestby (Glåmdal-Nittedal Elite)
DNF Lars Breiseth (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
DNF Andreas Molandsveen (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
DNF Håkon Austad (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
DNF Rune Jogert (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
DNF Roy Hegreberg (Sandnes SK)
DNF Arnt Ove Vold (IL Stjørdals-Blink Sykkel)
DNF Jim F. Kjerpeseth (Nesset CK)
DNF Kenneth Randin (Eidsvoll SK)
DNF Kent Håkon Olsen (Stavanger SK)
DNF Kurt Haugen (Grenland SK)
DNF Ola Magnus Laugland (Frikransen)
DNF Odd Arne Langset (Nesset CK)
DNF Erik Henriksen (Ålesund OCK)
DNF Christopher Myhre (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
DNF Terje Holm (Brumunddal SK)
DNF Runar Skuggevik (Birkenes IL)
DNF Tore Bekken (Team Krone/Ringerike SK)
DNF Håvard A. Sefland (Kristiansand CK)
DNF Edvin H. Bårdsen (CK Bjørgvin)
DNF Arve Lyngstad (Bærum OCK)
DNF Paul Verkyelen (Ringerike SK)
DNF Oddbjørn Sørensen (Grenland SK)
DNF Trond Kattem (Nye CK Victoria)
DNF Håvard Melheim (Sogn CK)
DNF Martin Gustavsen (Sarpsborg SK)
DNF Bjørn Saksberg (Bærum OCK)
DNF Bjørn Håvard Evjen (IF Frøy)
DNF Kristian G. Andreassen (Brumunddal SK)
DNF Helge Haugstad (Eidsvoll SK)
DNF Knut Inge Bøe (CK Bjørgvin)
DNF Helge Mosveen (Asker CK)
DNF Jarle Fredriksen (Bærum OCK )