Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

32nd Giro Ciclistico d'Italia Internazionale U26 - 2.6

Italy, June 15 - 23, 2002

Main Page    Results    Previous stage    Next Stage

Stage 7a - June 21: Alonte - Alonte, 86 km

Australian Team Report

By Brian Stephens, AIS U23 manager

Today there was a split stage in the Baby Giro with an 80km tough circuit race in the morning and a 64km flat circuit race in the afternoon. Although they raced hard in both stages it did nothing to change the GC at the top end. The morning stage was over a twisty circuit with a tough hill in it. The Australians had a bit of drama when Scott Davis crashed in a big pile up at the half way mark. The team got him back on, then he immediately punctured but again the team helped him back to the bunch.

The field split with 15 km remaining but all the GC contenders where together in the group that came in at 47". The stage was won by Fabio Borghesi from San Paolo.


1 Fabio Borghesi (Ita) San Paolo Saeco                      1.51.01 (44.318 km/h)
2 Gianluca Coletta (Ita) Garda Calze Resine Ragnoli
3 Andrei Karpatchev (Ita) Maserati Synclean
4 Giancarlo Checchi (Ita) San Paolo Saeco                      0.06
5 Stefano Boggia (Ita) Vezza Brunero                           0.08
6 Roman Luhovyy (Ukr) San Paolo Saeco                          0.47
7 Marco Righetto (Ita) Trevigiani Mapei
8 Sergio Marinangeli (Ita) Calz. Montergranaro
9 Aitor Galdos (Spa) Baque Cafè
10 Vladimir Goussev (Rus) Russia
13 Scott Davis (Aus) Australia                   
29 Giuseppe Muraglia (Ita) Marchiol Hit Casino's  
38 David McPartland (Aus) Australia                            3.29
39 Gene Bates (Aus) Australia          
104 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Australia                              9.49
109 Adrian Laidler (Aus) Australia          

General clasification after stage 7a

1 Giuseppe Muraglia (Ita) Marchiol Hit Casino's            26.16.49 (41.823 km/h)
2 Fabio Quercioli (Ita) Grassi Mapei                           0.33
3 Scott Davis (Aus) Australia                                  0.42
4 Simone Guidi (Ita) Team Casprini                             0.47
5 Joseba Albizu (Spa) Baque Cafè                               0.53
6 Marco Bertini (Ita) Bedogni Fama                             1.33
7 Giancarlo Ginestri (Ita) Zalf Desirè Fior                    1.44
8 Dmitri Semov (Rus) Russia                                    1.55
9 Vladimir Goussev (Rus) Russia                                2.19
10 Cristian Tosoni (Ita) Sanpellegrino Bottoli Artoni          2.34