Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

41st Manhattan Beach Grand Prix - NE

California, USA, August 11, 2002

2001 Results    Results    Past winners

Fraser gets revenge

Team Mercury report

Mercury's Gord Fraser took 3rd last week in Manhattan, NY, and on Sunday, in Manhattan Beach, CA, he more than made up for it by winning the Manhattan Beach Grand Prix in front of a big crowd.

It has been a very emotional week for the Mercury Team and Fraser, who lost his father almost 1 year ago, dedicated the win to Chris Wherry's father.

With a star-studded field including last week's big winner, Ivan Dominguez, the race has historically come down to a field sprint. All of the majors teams had their sprinters poised and ready to go.

Things were going to be different this year. With 35 minutes remaining in the 90 minute event, Mercury's Mike Sayers went away with three other riders (Mike Johnson, John Peters, and Brent Dawson). Within a lap, a group of eight more came across including Fraser. Suddenly, a group of 11 riders including Sayers, Fraser, Johnson, Clarke, Friedick, Dawson, Peters, Carney, and Candelario were motoring away. Absent was Saturn, and it was up to them to chase and brings things back together.

What a difference a week makes, as Saturn was not able to do what they did so well last week. The gap to the break increased to 1'10" and it was going to come down to the breakaway for the win.

With defending champion Carney sitting on, Mercury was content to roll through and keep the gap. On the last lap, Candelario was leading it out when Carney could not hold on and went sliding down and out. Fraser quickly went outside and never looked back as he took the victory.


Images by Carla Geyer/



1 Gordon Fraser (Can) Mercury Cycling Team
2 Brent Dawson (Aus) Jelly Belly
3 Alex Candelario (USA) Prime Alliance Cycling Team 
4 Hilton Clarke (Aus) Schroeder Iron Pro Cycling Team 
5 Mariano Friedick (USA) Jelly Belly
6 Mike Sayers (USA) Mercury Cycling Team
7 Ernesto Lechuga (Mex) Jelly Belly
8 James Paolinetti (USA) Schroeder Iron Pro Cycling Team 
9 Michael Johnson (USA) Schroeder Iron Pro Cycling Team 
10 John Peters (USA) Prime Alliance Cycling Team 


1 Suzanne Sonye (USA) Saturn Cycling Team
2 Becky Quinn (USA) Red 5 Racing
3 Jenny Eyerman (USA) Santa Cruz
4 Tania Duff Miller (USA) Freddie Fu
5 Laura Downey (USA) Velo Allegro
6 Deborah Durand (USA) Helen's
7 Kirsten Raudenbush (USA) Red 5 Racing
8 Jacque Scott (USA) Minute Maid
9 Lynn Gaggioli (USA) Michela Fanini
10 Katrina Berger (USA) T-Mobile 

Past winners

Pro Women
2001 Tina Mayolo (

Pro Men
1 Jonas Carney (Prime Alliance)