Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Canadian championships - CN

Oxford County, ON, Canada, August 8-11, 2002

Main Page     Results     Next Day

Day 1 - August 8: Time trials

Saturn's Wohlberg Crowned Canadian National Time Trial Champion

By Giana Roberge, Saturn Cycling Team

Saturn's Eric Wohlberg won his seventh consecutive national time trial title today. From the start of the 38 kilometer race it was Wohlberg setting the pace. He lead his closest competitor, Alexander Cloutier by 1.12 at the turn around, and finished 1.46 ahead of Cloutier, with Prime Alliance's Svein Tuft third at 2.18.

As reported to Canadian "I had better legs then in the time trial in Manchester, but I was still pretty tired," said Wohlberg. "It's a tough little course. The pavement is pretty fast but there were a lot of false flats and on the way out it was gradually uphill with a couple of bumps to break it up."

Jeanson takes women's TT

Team Rona report

Geneviève Jeanson, of team Rona, is the 2002 Canadian time trial champion. The 20-year old 'machine from Lachine' flew over the 22.4km course at an average 44.8km/h, stopping the watch at 30'01" – 1'12" better than runner-up Leah Goldstein from British Columbia. Quebecer Lyne Bessette, the 2001 champion, finished third 1'25" behind Jeanson.

Obviously happy with her victory, the young Team RONA leader seemed even more relieved to find herself in such good shape, having had growing difficulties with time trials in recent races. After winning the Tour of Greater Montreal time trial by a razor-thin margin, she ranked fourth and third of the time trials of the HP Challenge and the Fitchburg-Longsjo stage races, respectively.

"I felt super good for the past few days", she said after today's performance. "And even though I never take a race for granted, I was confident. Today I went all out from the gun to the finish, yet I felt easy for the whole race. Compared to my recent races, I didn't have to 'struggle' against the course. I was strong, I was ready. André [Aubut, coach and Team RONA manager] prepared me very well for these championships."

Jeanson's next race is the Canadian road race championship, a 108-km race to be held Saturday morning around Harrison, near London, Ontario. Jeanson will be flanked by her Canadian teammates Andrea Hannos from Vancouver, Amy Jarvis from Mississauga and Manon Jutras from MontrŽal.


Elite Men, 38km
1 Eric Wohlberg (ON) Saturn                                    47.01
2 Alexander Cloutier (QC) VW Trek                               1.46
3 Svein Tuft (BC) Prime Alliance                                2.18
4 Mark Walters (ON) Navigators                                  3.02
5 Bruno Langlois (QC) VW Trek                                   3.30
Women, 22.4km
1 Genevieve Jeanson (QC) RONA                                  30.01 (44.78 km/h)
2 Leah Goldstein (BC)                                           1.12
3 Lyne Bessette (QC) Team Quebec                                1.25
4 Anne Samplonius (ON) Trek Plus                                1.31
5 Sue Palmer-Komar (ON) Talgo America                           1.59
Espoir Men, 30km
1 Ryder Hesjedal (BC)                                          37.42
2 Francois Parisien (QC) Team Quebec                            0.30
3 Jean-Francois Laroche (QC)                                    0.31
4 Cory Lange (BC)                                               1.06
5 Dominique Rollin (QC)                                         1.17
Master A Men, 30km
1 Sean Scott (ON) Hamilton CC                                  39.24
2 Carl Dessureault (QC) Ind.                                    0.12
3 James Neil (BC) Trek VW                                       1.12
4 Jay Murray (BC) Trek VW                                       1.34
5 Lee Fraser (ON) MultiLaser                                    1.49
Master B Men, 30km
1 Craig Doucet (ON) LCW                                        40.40
2 Fred Pepper (ON) Hamilton CC                                  0.22
3 Craig Burge (QC) WEst Quebec Wheelers
4 Garnett Abbey (ON) Hamilton CC                                0.30
5 Colin Campbell (ON) Ind.                                      0.38
Master C, 30km
1 Charlie Squires (ON) LCW                                     42.08
2 Gordon Clarke (ON) Newmarket                                  0.40
3 Gary Cluett (ON) Ziggy's                                      0.48
4 Grant Strahl (ON) Newmarket Eagles                            1.09
5 Dave Viney (ON) Hardwood Hills                                2.17
Master D, 30km
1 Ted Hogarth (ON) Ontario Masters                             45.47
2 Ken Wilson (ON) Horizon 100/Cycledelia                        4.18
Master Women, 25km
1 Dianna May (ON) LCW                                          36.40
2 Nanci Dodman (ON) Cervelo                                     4.18
Junior Men, 25km
1 Andrew Davidson (AB) Trek VW                                 30.36
2 Can Evans (BC) Broadmark Capitol/Elite Bicycles               0.04
3 Maxime Vives (QC) Team Quebec                                 0.27
4 Marsh Cooper (BC) DEVO                                        1.02
5 Craig De Geir (NB) Atlantic Cycling Centre                    1.24
Junior Women, 15km
1 Audrey Lemieux (QC) Team Quebec                              24.25
2 Julie Belanger (NB)                                           0.39
3 Genevieve Leblanc (QC) Team Quebec                            0.53
4 Genevieve Gagnon (QC) Team Quebec                             1.42
5 Anna Tratnyek (ON) Festival City Cycling Club                 1.47
Additional results courtesy