Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

63rd Paris-Camembert Lepetit - 1.2

France, April 2, 2002

2001 Results   Results    Past winners

Ljungqvist's first for the season

Click for larger image
Marcus Ljungqvist
Photo ©: AFP

Swedish champion Marcus Ljungqvist (Team fakta) claimed victory in the 63rd Paris-Camembert, after a remarkable breakaway that lasted the entire race. At the finish the Swede was quicker than Ludovic Turpin (Ag2r) and Sandy Casar (FdJ), with his Danish teammate Lennie Kristensen taking fourth place.

What turned out to be the crucial move occurred in the first kilometre of the race. Stéphane Augé and Cyril Dessel (Jean Delatour) attacked, and were followed by 23 other riders. The French teams were well represented, with Agnolutto, Trastour and Turpin (AG2r), Clain and Tessier (Cofidis), Casar (FdJ), Gouvenou and Talabardon (Big mat), Moreau (Credit Agricole), Salanson (Bonjour) and Templier (St Quentin Oktos). Of the foreign teams, Ortenzi was there for Mercatone Uno and Chann McRae for US Postal, in addition to Ljungqvist and Kristensen (Team fakta).

The biggest team to miss the break was Lotto-Adecco, who drove at the front for nearly two hours at 50 km/h to try and get them back. They failed and gave up, as the gap was already over 4 minutes. Lance Armstrong's US Postal team were next to try and close it down (in spite of McRae), but were also unsuccessful. By the finish, the gap was up to nearly 9 minutes.

The fakta team knew this race well, as their director Kim Andersen won it in 1986, and Scott Sunderland finished third here last year. Ljungqvist and Kristensen together with Ludovic Turpin managed to make the final cut when Sandy Casar attacked on the Côte de Roiville with 38 kilometres to go.

Casar is having a great season so far, highlighted by his second place in Paris-Nice, and he means to go on with it. Today wasn't to be his day however.
Click for larger image
Ljungqvist wins
Photo: © AFP

At the bottom of the final climb of the Mur des Champeaux, Turpin put in a strong attack on the 17% slope, but was countered by Ljungqvist. Casar was dropped from the two leaders, and had to be content with third after chasing back on. In front, Ljungqvist was easily able to account for Turpin in the sprint, taking the biggest win in his fifth year as a professional, and his first of 2002.

A two-time Swedish time trial champion and last year's Swedish road champion, the 27 year old shows a lot of promise for his team in the future. His strength today was impressive against the more favoured riders such as Armstrong, Voigt, Rous, and Brochard.

"The breakaway group was perfect in its composition," said Ljungqvist. "I started with confidence and I always felt good. When Kristensen is came back after having been dropped, then I really believed it because I knew I was the quickest. It worked for me. This is the result of a team race."

Results - 208 km

1 Marcus Ljungqvist (Swe) Team fakta                  4.33.51 (45.57 km/h)
2 Ludovic Turpin (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
3 Sandy Casar (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
4 Lennie Kristensen (Den) Team fakta                     0.09
5 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance             1.07
6 Tom Leaper (Aus) Navigators Cycling Team
7 Médéric Clain (Fra) Cofidis                            1.10
8 Jonas Ljungblad (Swe) Amore & Vita-Beretta
9 Daniele Righi (Ita) Index-Alexia
10 Thierry Gouvenou (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
11 Fabrice Salanson (Fra) Bonjour
12 Olivier Trastour (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
13 Ruslan Pidgornyy (Ukr) De Nardi-Pasta Montegrappa
14 Stéphane Auge (Fra) Jean-Delatour                     1.43
15 Jean-Michel Tessier (Fra) Cofidis
16 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Jean Delatour
17 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
18 Glenn Mitchell (NZl) Navigators
19 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Credit Agricole
20 Vincent Templier (Fra) Oktos-Saint Quentin
48 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean-Delatour                  8.46
64 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour                             8.52
70 Florent Brard (Fra) Credit Agricole
75 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal Service
DNF Jens Voigt (Ger) Credit Agricole
DNF Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno

Coupe de France standings after round 4

1 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux             62 pts
2 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali                   50
3 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r-Prevoyance                  50
4 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bonjour                          43
5 Ludovic Turpin (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance                 35
6 Sandy Casar (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux              25
7 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance           24
8 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean-Delatour                 22
9 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis                            20
10 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Ag2r-Prevoyance           14
10 Médéric Clain (Fra) Cofidis                         14

Past winners

Paris-Camembert (Trophée Lepetit)

2001  Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour
2000  Didier Rous (Fra)
1999  Fabio Fontanelli (Ita)
1998  Pascal Lino (Fra)
1997  Mauro Gianetti (Swi)
1996  Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1995  Andrej Tchmil (Mol)
1994  Armand De las Cuevas (Fra)
1993  Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz)
1992  Patrice Esnault (Fra)
1991  Brian Holm (Den)
1990  Thierry Marie (Fra)
1989  Andreas Kappes (Ger)
1988  Laurent Fignon (Fra)
1987  Mathieu Hermans (Ned)
1986  Kim Andersen (Den)
1985  Martial Gayant (Fra)
1984  Hubert Linard (Fra)
1983  Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1982  Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1981  Guy Gallopin (Fra)
1980  Pierre-Raymond Villemiane (Fra)
1979  Raymond Martin (Fra)
1978  Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1977  Hubert Linard (Fra)
1976  Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1975  Raymond Martin (Fra)
1974  Alain Santy (Fra)
1973  Regis Delephin (Fra)
1972  José Catieau (Fra)
1971  Gerard Moneyron (Fra)
1970  Georges Chappe (Fra)
1969  Raymond Riotte (Fra)
1968  Harry Stevens (Ned)
1967  Georges Chappe (Fra)
1966  Desire Letort (Fra)
1965  Pierre Everaert (Fra)
1964  Arie Den Hertog (Ned)
1963  Jacques Simon (Fra)
1962  Piet Rentmeester (Ned)
1961  Jean-Claude Annaert (Fra)
1960  Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1959  Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1958  Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1957  Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1956  René Fournier (Fra)
1955  Jean-Marie Cieleska (Fra)
1954  Gilbert Bauvin (Fra)
1953  Jean Gueguen (Fra)
1952  Robert Varnajo (Fra)
1951  Jean Baldassari (Fra)
1950  Ange Le Strat (Fra)
1949  Jean Rey (Fra)
1948  Raoul Remy (Fra)
1947  Robert Dorgebray (Fra)
1946  Paul Neri (Ita)
1944  Maurice De Muer (Fra)
1943  Victor Cosson (Fra)

Paris-Vimoutiers, 1906-1942

1942  Joseph Goutourbe (Fra)
1939  Pierre Cloarec (Fra)
1938  Jean-Marie Goasmat (Fra)
1937  André Auville (Fra)
1936  Yvon Marie (Fra)
1935  Marcel Bat (Fra)
1934  Louis Thietard (Fra)
1906  Mary (Fra)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,