Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

29th Olympic Games - JO

Beijing, China, August 9-23, 2008

Main Page    Results            Previous Event  Next Event

Event 15 - August 16: Men's 4000m Individual Pursuit Final

Britain wins two of three men's individual pursuit medals

By Rob Jones in Beijing

The eight riders who moved on from Friday's qualifying round were pared down to four finalists: Wiggins, countryman Steven Burke, Hayden Roulston (New Zealand) and Alexei Markov (Russia). Wiggins and Roulston continued as the only riders to post sub-4:20 rides, and would compete for the gold medal.

First up was the bronze medal ride, and Burke came from behind to overhaul Markov in the final kilometre and claim the podium spot. The gold medal final followed a similar format, with Roulston coming out fast, only to be steadily reeled in by Wiggins.

"It was another brilliant day for Great Britain, we are just on top everywhere. We're just pissing all over everyone, to be frank. It's no surprise, really, we expected to be in this position. In eight years we've become the dominant force right across the board."

Roulston has made great strides in the past year, but still feels that he has room to improve. "Great Britain is getting these results now because they've been building since before Athens. New Zealand has just started in the last year. I came to win gold and came away with silver, but I'm definitely happy with it.

"Wiggins is the true champion, he's pure class," said Roulston, "but I'm on the right road. This is just the beginning."

Taylor Phinney, the youngest rider in the event, faced Roulston in the second round, and was eliminated, but took it in stride. "It's my first Olympics, I'll be back for more. My goal was to qualify and race for two days, which I managed, so I'm pleased."

"I gave everything I had on the first day, and today I was more tired," said Phinney. "It took more out of me than I thought."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by AFP Photo

Images by Rob Jones/www.canadiancyclist.com

Images by Casey Gibson/www.cbgphoto.com


Gold medal ride

1 Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)    4.16.977 (56.036 km/h)
2 Hayden Roulston (New Zealand)      4.19.611
Bronze medal ride

1 Steven Burke (Great Britain)       4.20.947
2 Alexei Markov (Russia)             4.24.149

Back to top