Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

USA Crits Series - NE

USA and Canada, April 26-September 25, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings            Previous Race  Next Race

Race 7 - July 19: Wells Fargo Twilight Crit, Boise, Idaho

Toyota-United Dominates Boise Twilight Once Again

More than 10,000 cycling fans watched Hilton Clarke bring the Toyota-United squad their second USA CRITS Series win this season at the Wells Fargo Twilight Criterium in Boise, Idaho. Clarke, followed in the footsteps of team-mate Ivan Dominguez, who won the 2007 edition of the race, by decisively lapping the field 52 minutes into the race.

The race, now 22 years old, was run on a different course this year due to local construction. The new 1 kilometre circuit had a small S-shape through turn number one, but the adjusted layout did not prevent Time Pro Cycling's Daniel Ramsey from leading the race outright for 11 laps. Ramsey was then joined by Clarke and his Toyota-United team-mate Dominique Rollin. With so many riders intent on chasing the mid-race prime cash prize, the field was blown apart, and the trio was able to lap the riders.

With the victory seemingly in hand, Toyota took no chances and clearly dominated the contest for the final 30 minutes of racing, setting up a successful lead-out train for their Australian sprinter. With Clarke's win at Wells Fargo, the 29-year old speedster takes his 12th win of the 2008 season.

Toyota-United, which has yet to announce a replacement title sponsor for the 2009 season, continues to rack up victories as the racing season progresses. Thanks, however, to his fourth place finish, Time Pro Cycling's Adam Myerson has now assumed the top position on the USA CRITS leader board.

Myerson's team-mate Erik Barlevav won the Harlem Skyscraper Classic Series stop, and the small development team out of Winston-Salem, North Carolina is proving to be a dark horse squad as the series rolls on. Right behind Myerson in the overall standings is the Toshiba-Santo's Cuban duo Yosvany Falcon and Frank Travieso.

The USA CRITS Series now moves from the great northwest to the deep south for the Presbyterian Hospital Invitational Criterium in Charlotte, North Carolina, which is set to take place on August 2. One of the most well-attended events in the Series, Charlotte annually draws not only huge crowds, but the also the best criterium specialists in the country.


Elite men

1 Hilton Clarke (Toyota-United)                           
2 Dominique Rollin (Toyota-United)                        
3 Daniel Ramsey (TIME Pro Cycling)                        
4 Thomas Soladay (UCI CT: TIME Pro Cycling)               
5 Ivan Dominguez (toyota-United)                          
6 Adam Myerson (TIME Pro Cycling)                         
7 Alexi Martinez (Successfulliving)                       
8 Caleb Manion (Toyota-United)                            
9 Hayden Godfrey (Team Inferno)                           
10 Cameron Hoffman (American R.A.D.D. presented by)       
11 Jaime Gandara (Team Inferno)                           
12 Jorge Alvarado (Kahala La grange)                      
13 David Mccook (ProMan cycling Team)                     
14 Seth Hansley (Locos Grill & Pub)                       
15 Remi Mcmanus (Team Inferno)                            
16 David Richter (Benaroya Research Institute)            
17 Ryan Parnes (Metromint Cycling)                        
18 Mike Stoop (TIME Pro cycling)                          
19 Jeff Hopkins (Team Inferno)                            
20 Devon Vigus (California Giant Berry Farms/)            
21 Chris Hamilton (CMG/Bike n' Hike Giant/Russell)        
22 Christopher Judy (US Armed Forces)                     
23 Chris Stuart (Team Bobs-Bicycles.com)                  
24 Todd Hageman (Binghams/Northshore)                     
25 Bennet Van Der Genugten (Team Inferno)                 
26 Shawn Mitchell (BODE/Specialized)                      
27 Justin Rose (Team Bobs-Bicycles.com)                   
28 James Allan (Team Bobs-Bicycles.com)                   
29 Craig Dodson (Richmond Pro Cycling)                    
30 Erik Slack (Team Bobs-Bicycles.com)                    
31 Gregg Medinilla (Team DARE/Nytro)                      
32 Sean Sulleran (Toyota-United)                          
33 Christopher Wherry (Toyota-United)                     
34 Aaron Johnson (Benaroya Research Institute)            
35 Andy Jacques-Maynes (California Giant Berry Farms/)    
36 Cooper Lange (Hagens Berman)                           
37 Dean Peters (Leopard Cycles - Dr. Pad)                 
38 Jonathan Coulter (WEBCOR-ALTO VELO)                    
39 Bradley Gehrig (Canyon Bicycles of Salt Lake)          
40 Steve Reaney (California Giant Berry Farms/)           
41 Brandon Archibald (Team Bobs-Bicycles.com)             
42 Jose Manuel (Toyota-United)                            
43 Heath Blackgrove (Toyota-United)                       
44 Peter Devore (Intermountain Orthopaedics Cyc)          
45 Keith Miller (California Giant Berry Farms/)           
46 Chris Torgerson (Benaroya Research Institute)          
DNS Antonio Cruz (Discovery)                              
DNS  Jason Dykstra (BODE)                                 
DNF Joe Baratto (Wines of Washington)                     
DNF  George (Tad) Hamilton (Team Bobs-Bicycles.com)       
DNF  Robert Campbell (Team Bobs-Bicycles.com)             
DNF  Sean Tucker (Toyota-United)                          
DNF  Patrick Briggs (California Giant Berry Farms/)       
DNF  Kenneth Hanson (California Giant Berry Farms/)       
DNF  Brian Cavanagh (BODE/Specialized) 

Elite women

1 Kristin Armstrong Savola (Cervelo-Lifeforce)          
2 Nichole Wangsgard (Colavita / Sutter Home p/b Coo)    
3 Kirsten Kotval (PCIM)                                 
4 Liza Rachetto (Team TIBCO)                            
5 Patricia Bailey (Wines of Washington)                 
6 Jadine Riley (Team Group Health)                      
7 Jenn Halladay (Bobs-Bicycles.com)                     
8 Taitt Sato (ValueAct Capital)                         
9 Tiffany Pezzulo (PCIM)                                
10 Dana Robertson Halter (Team Group Health)            
11 Shannon Koch (Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team)         
12 Jennifer Gaertner (Bobs-Bicycles.com)                
13 Ally Stacher (Bobs-Bicycles.com)                     
14 Sirikit Valentin (Wines of Washington)               
15 Ashley Anderson (Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team)      
DNF Sarah Barber (Bobs-Bicycles.com)                    
DNF  Allison Beall (Bobs-Bicycles.com)                  
DNF  Sarah Brown (Bobs-Bicycles.com)                    
DNF  Kimberley Turner (Bobs-Bicycles.com)               
DNF  Courtney Hill (Bountiful Mazda)                    
DNF  Mikayla Lyman (BYRDS)                              
DNF  Coryn Rivera (Kahala LaGrange)                     
DNF  Jenny Willhite (Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team)     
DNF  Susan Robinson (Mudhoney/SVR&D)                    
DNF  Margaret Douglass (Ski Utah Cycling Team)          
DNF  Katrina Finley (University of Idaho)               
DNF  Heather Albert (Unattached)                        

Back to top