Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

92nd Tour de France - GT

France, July 2-24, 2005

Main Page    Start order     Results   Live report    Previous Stage      Next Stage  

Stage 20 - Saturday, July 23: Saint-Etienne - Saint-Etienne ITT, 55 km

The showdown! All things being equal (and even with a few inequalitites) the individual time trial should provide a great spectacle at the end of a gruelling three weeks - Armstrong thrives in this race against the clock, and his dominance is well documented. But if we have a situation like 2003, this could be the clincher for the leader going into the stage, or it could provide the challenger with a whisker of hope. Here's hoping the weather stays fine and we get Ullrich out firing and witness Basso's improvement in time trialling, which has also been well-documented. The distance suits Armstrong, but the undulating terrain suits Ullrich's ability to push the big gears and power along. A surprise may be in the works, but chances are it'll come down to these two, regardless of where they are on GC - but it's also likely they'll both be at the pointy end of the field.

Stage Map

Stage Profile

Images ©:AFP

Start order

10:55   Iker Flores (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
10:57   Wim Vansevenant (Davitamon-Lotto)
10:59   Janek Tombak (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
11:01   Servais Knaven (Quick.Step)
11:03   Robert Förster (Gerolsteiner)
11:05   Daniel Becke (Illes Balears-Caisse d'Epargne)
11:07   Unai Etxebarria (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
11:09   Rafael Nuritdinov (Domina Vacanze)
11:11   Jose Vicente García Acosta (Illes Balears-Caisse d'Epargne)
11:13   Michael Albasini (Liquigas-Bianchi)
11:15   Peter Wrolich (Gerolsteiner)
11:17   Kjell Carlström (Liquigas-Bianchi)
11:19   Marc Wauters (Rabobank)
11:21   Mauro Facci (Fassa Bortolo)
11:23   Baden Cooke (Française Des Jeux)
11:25   Johan Vansummeren (Davitamon-Lotto)
11:27   Bernhard Eisel (Française Des Jeux)
11:29   Guido Trenti (Quick.Step)
11:31   Mauro Gerosa (Liquigas-Bianchi)
11:33   Nicolas Jalabert (Phonak Hearing Systems)
11:35   Karsten Kroon (Rabobank)
11:37   Robbie McEwen (Davitamon-Lotto)
11:39   Michael Rich (Gerolsteiner)
11:41   Fabian Cancellara (Fassa Bortolo)
11:43   Fred Rodriguez (Davitamon-Lotto)
11:45   Alessandro Vanotti (Domina Vacanze)
11:47   Manuel Quinziato (Saunier Duval-Prodir)
11:49   Frédéric Bessy (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
11:51   Thierry Marichal (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
11:53   Marcus Ljungqvist (Liquigas-Bianchi)
11:55   Simon Gerrans (Ag2r-Prevoyance)
11:57   Laszlo Bodrogi (Credit Agricole)
11:59   Thomas Voeckler (Bouygues Telecom)
12:01   Stéphane Augé (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
12:03   Inaki Isasi (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
12:05   Matthew White (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
12:07   Matthieu Sprick (Bouygues Telecom)
12:09   Laurent Lefèvre (Bouygues Telecom)
12:11   Giovanni Lombardi (Team CSC)
12:13   Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole)
12:15   Sébastien Hinault (Credit Agricole)
12:17   Samuel Dumoulin (Ag2r-Prevoyance)
12:19   Mario Aerts (Davitamon-Lotto)
12:21   Alessandro Bertolini (Domina Vacanze)
12:23   Luis León Sanchez (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
12:25   Erik Dekker (Rabobank)
12:27   Bram Tankink (Quick.Step)
12:29   Daniele Righi (Lampre-Caffita)
12:31   Benjamin Noval (Discovery Channel)
12:33   Luke Roberts (Team CSC)
12:35   Bradley McGee (Française Des Jeux)
12:37   Bert Grabsch (Phonak Hearing Systems)
12:39   Sébastien Joly (Credit Agricole)
12:41   Volodimir Gustov (Fassa Bortolo)
12:43   Alessandro Cortinovis (Domina Vacanze)
12:45   Pavel Padrnos (Discovery Channel)
12:47   Anthony Geslin (Bouygues Telecom)
12:49   David Loosli (Lampre-Caffita)
12:51   Salvatore Commesso (Lampre-Caffita)
12:53   Ludovic Turpin (Ag2r-Prevoyance)
12:55   Inigo Landaluze (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
12:57   Rubens Bertogliati  (Saunier Duval-Prodir)
12:59   Beat Zberg (Gerolsteiner)
13:01   Francis Mourey (Française Des Jeux)
13:03   Ronny Scholz (Gerolsteiner)
13:05   Yuriy Krivtsov (Ag2r-Prevoyance)
13:07   Kurt-Asle Arvesen (Team CSC)
13:09   Nicolas Portal (Ag2r-Prevoyance)
13:11   Joost Posthuma (Rabobank)
13:13   Denis Menchov (Rabobank)
13:15   Stephan Schreck (T-Mobile Team)
13:17   Allan Davis (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
13:19   Tobias Steinhauser (T-Mobile Team)
13:21   Gorazd Stangelj (Lampre-Caffita)
13:23   Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner)
13:25   Didier Rous (Bouygues Telecom)
13:27   Andrei Grivko (Domina Vacanze)
13:29   Massimo Giunti (Fassa Bortolo)
13:31   Joseba Beloki (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
13:33   Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
13:35   Carlos Da Cruz (Française Des Jeux)
13:37   Pieter Weening (Rabobank)
13:39   José Luis Arrieta (Illes Balears-Caisse d'Epargne)
13:41   Iker Camano (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
13:43   Nicki Sörensen (Team CSC)
13:45   Philippe Gilbert (Française Des Jeux)
13:47   Juan Antonio Flecha (Fassa Bortolo)
13:49   Juan Manuel Garate (Saunier Duval-Prodir)
13:51   Walter Bénéteau (Bouygues Telecom)
13:53   Sebastian Lang (Gerolsteiner)
13:55   David Moncoutié (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
13:57   Thomas Lövkvist (Française Des Jeux)
13:59   Angel Vicioso (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
14:01   Lorenzo Bernucci (Fassa Bortolo)
14:03   David Canada (Saunier Duval-Prodir)
14:05   Patrik Sinkewitz (Quick.Step)
14:07   Sylvain Chavanel (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
14:09   Iban Mayo (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
14:11   Matthias Kessler (T-Mobile Team)
14:13   Dario Cioni (Liquigas-Bianchi)
14:15   Daniele Nardello (T-Mobile Team)
14:17   Christophe Brandt (Davitamon-Lotto)
14:19   David Arroyo (Illes Balears-Caisse d'Epargne)
14:21   Patrice Halgand (Credit Agricole)
14:23   Santiago Botero (Phonak Hearing Systems)
14:25   Vladimir Karpets (Illes Balears-Caisse d'Epargne)
14:27   Jose Enrique Gutierrez (Phonak Hearing Systems)
14:29   Egoi Martinez (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
14:31   Pierrick Fédrigo (Bouygues Telecom)
14:33   Franco Pellizotti (Liquigas-Bianchi)
14:35   Roberto Heras (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
14:37   Cédric Vasseur (Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone)
14:39   Jérôme Pineau (Bouygues Telecom)
14:41   Michael Rogers (Quick.Step)
14:43   Alexandre Moos (Phonak Hearing Systems)
14:45   Marcos Serrano (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
14:47   Axel Merckx (Davitamon-Lotto)
14:49   Maxim Iglinski (Domina Vacanze)
14:51   Jörg Ludewig (Domina Vacanze)
14:53   Pietro Caucchioli (Credit Agricole)
14:55   Jose Luis Rubiera (Discovery Channel)
14:57   Chris Horner (Saunier Duval-Prodir)
14:59   Stéphane Goubert (Ag2r-Prevoyance)
15:01   Stefano Garzelli (Liquigas-Bianchi)
15:03   Alberto Contador (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
15:05   Jose Azevedo (Discovery Channel)
15:07   Sandy Casar (Française Des Jeux)
15:09   Laurent Brochard (Bouygues Telecom)
15:11   Mikel Astarloza (Ag2r-Prevoyance)
15:13   Georg Totschnig (Gerolsteiner)
15:15   Paolo Savoldelli (Discovery Channel)
15:17   Michael Boogerd (Rabobank)
15:19   Carlos Sastre (Team CSC)
15:21   Xabier Zandio (Illes Balears-Caisse d'Epargne)
15:23   Giuseppe Guerini (T-Mobile Team)
15:25   Leonardo Piepoli (Saunier Duval-Prodir)
15:28   Andrei Kashechkin (Credit Agricole)
15:31   Bobby Julich (Team CSC)
15:34   George Hincapie (Discovery Channel)
15:37   Jörg Jaksche (Liberty Seguros-Würth)
15:40   Oscar Sevilla (T-Mobile Team)
15:43   Haimar Zubeldia (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
15:46   Yaroslav Popovych (Discovery Channel)
15:49   Eddy Mazzoleni (Lampre-Caffita)
15:52   Christophe Moreau (Credit Agricole)
15:55   Oscar Pereiro Sio (Phonak Hearing Systems)
15:58   Floyd Landis (Phonak Hearing Systems)
16:01   Alexandre Vinokourov (T-Mobile Team)
16:04   Cadel Evans (Davitamon-Lotto)
16:07   Levi Leipheimer (Gerolsteiner)
16:10   Francisco Mancebo (Illes Balears-Caisse d'Epargne)
16:13   Jan Ullrich (T-Mobile Team)
16:16   Michael Rasmussen (Rabobank)
16:19   Ivan Basso (Team CSC)
16:22   Lance Armstrong (Discovery Channel)

Back to top