12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>13,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
GP des Nations
Competitive Cyclist
Chain Reaction
Full Speed Ahead
Look Cycle

GP des Nations - 1.1/1.7.1

France, September 21, 2002

Main Page    Photography    Results

Veteran Peschel outlasts Bodrogi in classic TT challenge

By Chris Henry

Peschel repeats
Click for larger image

Thirty four year old German Uwe Peschel (Gerolsteiner) won his second Grand Prix des Nations time trial today, following on his first success back in 1997. Peschel covered the 67km course in 1'24", beating Mapei time trial specialist Laszlo Bodrogi and surprising third place challenger Yuriy Krivtsov (Jean Delatour). After several seasons of injury and illness, it was a win of redemption for Peschel, and another year of frustration for Bodrogi, who despite his many victories has yet to win the prestigious GP des Nations.

"I've had a lot of setbacks since my first win in 1997," commented Peschel. "Thankfully I've been able to rebuild myself in 2001 and 2002, and that's given me reason to have been patient."

This year's race brought several time trial specialists to Le Havre, including US Postal's Vjatceslav Ekimov, Peschel's Gerolsteiner teammate Michael Rich, and Credit Agricole's Jens Voigt. In the end, however, the expected showdown between Peschel and Bodrogi did not disappoint.

After the first time check, Peschel was riding strongly, only two seconds behind heavily favored Bodrogi. After completing the first of two laps of the course, however, his deficit had increased to ten seconds.

Bodrogi hammers
Click for larger image

Things turned around for Peschel on the second lap, and the second climb of the course's only difficulty. Peschel powered up the climb, while Bodrogi struggled to maintain his momentum. "That makes ten days that I've had trouble maintaining an effort on the hills," said Bodrogi. "Peschel took 40 seconds out of me, and at the end, with a tailwind, there was no way to get that back."

Despite faltering on the hills today, Bodrogi still finished second (36" back), and put on a brave face for the upcoming World's in Zolder. "It's disappointing, but I said to myself that at Zolder, where the circuit is essentially flat, I won't have this problem."

In the Men's Under 23 event, Lithuanian Tomas Vaitkus clocked a winning time of 42'50" over one lap of the circuit, beating Belgium's Sébastien Rosseler by just 1 second. Rabobank's Kevin De Weert completed the podium in third spot, three seconds behind the winner, while Rory Sutherland of the Australian National Team provided a good ride to take sixth place.


Images by Franck Fife, AFP


Elite Men - 67 km

1 Uwe Peschel (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner                       1.24.04 (47.81 km/h)
2 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Mapei-Quick Step                        0.36
3 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) Jean Delatour                           0.54
4 Michael Rich (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner                         1.04
5 Jean Nuttli (Swi) Oktos - Saint-Quentin                      1.07
6 Vjatceslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal Service                    1.10
7 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Credit Agricole                      1.38
8 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Mapei - Quick Step                   1.40
9 Michael Rogers (Aus) Mapei-Quick Step                        2.25
10 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) Team Csc Tiscali                     2.38
11 Raivis Belohvosciks (Lat) Lampre Daikin                     2.48
12 Andrea Peron (Ita) Team Csc Tiscali                         2.52
13 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Lampre Daikin                      3.39
14 Kurt-Asle Arvesen (Nor) EDS-Fakta                           3.49
15 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour                                   4.00
16 Jens Voigt (Ger) Credit Agricole                            4.02
17 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
18 René Andrle (Cze) Once - Eroski
19 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole                          4.11
20 Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites                  4.15
21 Sandy Casar (Fra) Fdjeux.Com                                5.02
22 Bradley McGee (Aus) Fdjeux.Com                              5.08
23 Marcus Ljungqvist (Swe) EDS - Fakta                         5.51

U23 Men - 33.5 km

1 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu) Zoccorinese Ghia Fasco                  42.50 (46.92 km/h)
2 Sébastien Rosseler (Bel) Belgium                             0.01
3 Kevin De Weert (Bel) Rabobank                                0.03
4 Niels Scheuneman (Ned) Rabobank                              0.08
5 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Belgium                          0.19
6 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Australian National Team               0.48
7 Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) Groupe Sportif Jean Floc'h           1.07
8 Christophe Kern (Fra) Vendee U - Pays De La Loire            1.10
9 Mariusz Witecki (Pol) Cyclo Club Nogent Sur Oise             1.12
10 Guillaume Canet (Fra) Velo Club Lyon - Vaulx En Velin       1.32
11 Thomas Terrettaz (Fra) Chambery Cyclisme Formation          1.38
12 Damien Monier (Fra) Comite Regional D'auvergne              1.46
13 Alberto Contador (Spa) ONCE - Eroski                        1.50
14 Romain Genter (Fra) Sprinter - Club Sarreguemines 57        1.59
15 Kilian Patour (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs                 2.03
16 Eric Berthou (Fra) Groupe Sportif Jean Floc'h               2.04
17 Francesco Rivera (Ita) Zoccorinese Vellutex                 2.08
18 Tarmo Raudsepp (Est) Nantes 44 Cyclisme                     2.11
19 Sébastien Thomas (Fra) Velo-Sport Montluconnais             2.16
20 Mart Louwers (Ned) Rabobank                                 2.17
21 Jérémy Roy (Fra) Saint Cyr Sur Loire Union Cycliste         2.20
22 Jean Zen (Fra) Vendee U - Pays De La Loire                  2.27
23 Xavier Pache (Swi) Bianchi Fiat                             2.54
24 Gaylord Cumont (Fra) Veloce Club Rouen 76                   2.55
25 Christophe Riblon (Fra) Cyclo Club Nogent Sur Oise          3.02
26 Eric Trokimo (Fra) Veloce Club Rouen-76                     3.12
27 Rick Flens (Ned) Netherlands                                3.16
28 Alexandre Pichot (Fra) Vendee U - Pays De La Loire          3.31