Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Blackberry Criterium

Bremerton, Washington, September 2, 2006

Courtesy Joe Holmes

The podium
Photo ©: Joe Holmes
(Click for larger image)

In only its 2nd year, the Blackberry Criterium held in Bremerton, Washington has grown into one of the richest 1 day races in the Pacific Northwest. The $5000 prize list up for grabs in the Pro 1-2 field attracted riders from all over the region. The Canadian professional team, Symmetrics sent a full squad including Canadian National Criterium Champion, Cam Evans and eventual race winner Andrew Pinfold.

Andrew Pinfold
Photo ©: Joe Holmes
(Click for larger image)

Numerous breakaway attempts were thwarted by the slight rises at both ends of the course and the fast paced field. With 5 to go it became obvious that the race would come down to a field sprint. Menlo Park, California resident Billy Innes of the Lombardi Sports team tried to break the grip of the Symmetrics lead out train attacking with 1.5 laps to go. Although he managed to scoop up the $300 gamblers prime he was caught on the backside, setting the stage for the pack’s charge to the line.

Pinfold was a clear winner over second place rider Jonny Sundt riding for Axley USA and third place rider, New Zealander Adam Curry racing for the local Broadmark Cycling Team.


Pro 1-2
1 Andrew Pinfold        
2 Jonny Sundt           
3 Adam Curry            
4 Anton Jackson         
5 Svein Tuft            
6 Chad Nikolz           
7 Rob Cambell           
8 Jason Schniepp        
9 Pete Groblewski       
10 Steve Higgins        
11 Bryan Duvall         
12 Michael Murdin       
13 Daniel Carruthers    
14 Gary Brown           
15 Warren Atkey         
16 Chris Teufel         
17 Morgan Schmitt       
18 Tony Ogden           
19 Logan Hunn           
20 Wes Pierce           
Category 3
1 John Ireland          
2 Paul Eddleston        
3 Grant Boursaw         
4 Randy Salomon         
5 Bill Zimmerman        
6 Paul Werner           
7 Patrick Raney         
8 Harry Pepe            
9 Jim Gillette          
10 Paul Wang            
11 Scott Zalac          
12 Andy Shirey          
13 Mark Hinman          
14 Dan Hazzard          
15 Brett Walker         
1 Kele Murdin           
2 Tricia Sanstrom       
3 Jadine Riley          
4 Carol Johnson         
5 Laura Erker           
6 Amara Boursaw         
7 Tonia Schmidt         
8 Danielle Shaver       
9 Danielle Lindblom     
10 Deven Simpson        
1 Rob Campbell          
2 Pat Gray              
3 Jim Bladner           
4 Todd Gallager         
5 Steve Poulter         
6 Mike Burda            
7 Aaron Levin           
8 Flavia Tattazzi       
9 Matt Hill             
10 Chris Gulick         
Category 4/5
1 Daniel Olsen          
2 Doug Albrecht         
3 Brent Carlson         
4 Steve Markley         
5 Corrie Martin         
6 Michael Toglia        
7 Jacob Venard          
8 Ruben Garcia          
9 David Foster          
10 Dan Hollingsworth    
Junior Men A/B
1 Steve Fisher          
2 Shawn Worsech         
3 Jordan Campbell       
4 Win Mason             
5 Ben Masters           
Junior Women A
1 Christina Norwich     
Junior Men C
1 J.D. Fette            
2 Evan Kenwick          
3 Brady Maris           
Junior Men D
1 Austin Clevenger      
2 Avi Mahan             
3 Will Van Cleve        
Junior Women D
1 Taylor Tynnissma      
2 Kelsey Ling           

Local results 2006