Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Junior PCT Grand Prix

Philadelphia, PA June 11, 2006

Juniors get spotlight in Pro Cycling Tour Grand Prix

Commerce Bank Triple Crown promoters take opportunity to develop cycling’s future champions

As the Pro men did battle in the Commerce Bank Philadelphia International Championship, the next generation of cycling stars had a chance to shine in the Junior PCT Grand Prix.

After two qualifying races including the Friday night Manayunk Hill Climb and Saturday’s Time Trial in front of the Philadelphia Art Museum, 20 of the most talented Junior racers took the line. They would complete 3.5 laps of a one mile circuit with the win being awarded to the rider with the most points after intermediate lap sprints were tabulated.

The large crowds in attendance to see the Commerce Bank Philadelphia International Championship were treated to a fast paced race with three exciting sprints. At the end of the competition, Shane Kline (Fuji) had amassed the most points and was awarded the Junior PCT Grand Prix title. Second went to Colton Valentine (Team Snow Valley) and stealing the final podium spot was Stephen Koelbl (Warrenton Cycling).


1 Shane Kline (Fuji)                        19 pts
2 Colton Valentine (Team Snow Valley)       10
3 Stephen Koelbl (Warrenton Cycling)         8
4 Nicholas Reinert (Fuji)                    8
5 Henrigue Avancini (Fuji Bikes Brazil)      7
6 Stephen Chiselko (Liberty Cycle)           1
7 Mitchell Witmer (Red Rose Rockets)         1
8 Evan Daney (Tri State Velo)                 
9 Jeffrey Salvitti (Alliance Enviromenta)     
10 Nick Bruno (Pedal Sports)                  
11 Jeremy Shirock (South Mountain Cycle)      
12 Andrew D'ignazio                        
13 Mitch Hein (First State Velo Sports)       
14 Evan Aamodt                             
DNF Greg Van Wagner (BBS/Matttek.Com)         
DNF Nathan Larson (Countryside Cycling)       
DNF Graham Coy (Gotham Cyclist)               
DNF Keith Groshans (Monstr Health Cycling)    
DNF Ian Gordon (Team Snow Valley)             
DNS Mark Saunders (Team Snow Valley)          
DNS Taylor Brown (Tri State Velo)              

Local results 2006