Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Summerside Cycling Club

Indian River, June 7, 2006

Record Turn-Out for S'side Cycling Club Training Ride

The sixth training event for the Summerside Cycling Club this year brought out two new faces for the ride: Paul Wright (Bedeque) and Dave Clark (Summerside).

They were joined by Leo Flood (Kinkora), Chris Gallant (Summerside), Jeff Hemphill (Summerside), Rob Cook (Traveller's Rest), Jules Aucoin (Summerside), Chris Silvaggio (Summerside), Ben Kennedy (Kensington), Ernie Schleichkorn (Summerside), Jason Linger (Charlottetown), and Ken Trenholm (Summerside).

Although the atmospheric conditions changed from sunny to cloudy and from less than 10 km/h winds to 24 km/h wind by the start of the training ride, the head and side winds and esculating rolling hills on the 12.1 km Indian River course could not shake the cyclists from their line on this day.

Four Club riders improved their performance since their last training on the course two weeks ago.

Most remarkable was Ben Kennedy of Kensington who powered on the rivet to cut an astonishing two minutes and ten seconds off his previous personal best. This ride earned Kennedy the largest single course improvement in the Club's history.

The second Summerside Club member to set a new personal best was Rob Cook of Traveller's Rest. Cook hammered in the saddle and improved his time by shaving one minute and six seconds for a new personal best time.

The two other riders to improve on the course were Jeff Hemphill (by 53 seconds) and Ken Trenholm (by 39 seconds), both riders from Summerside.

For the eight other riders who tackled the course for the first time, they will return in two weeks and attempt to improve on the benchmark they set for themselves.

And, as for the two first-time training riders who came out, Paul Wright and Dave Clark, they each averaged over 33 kilometres-per-hour.

The following training points were awarded: Trenholm 67 (50-1st; 15-Improve; 2-start); Linger 47 (45-2nd; 2-start); Wright 42 (40-3rd; 2-start); Hemphill 42 (25-6th; 15-Impove; 2-start); Clark 37 (35-4th; 2-start); Silvaggio 32 (30-5th; 2-start); Kennedy 32 (15-8th; 15-Improve; 2-start); Cook 29 (12-10th; 15-Improve; 2-start); Flood 22 (20-7th; 2-start); Aucoin 15 (13-9th; 2-start); Schleichkorn 12 (10-11th; 2-start); and Gallant 11 (9-12th; 2-start).

The 12.1 km time trial training ride is a part of a series of training rides organized by the Club to improve rider's strength, endurance, and conditioning in order to participate in the July 15 - 16 PEI Bike Fest and the August 5 one day across PEI Biking for Breakfast event.

The next training ride is Saturday, June 10 at 800 am, meeting at Shipyard Market; the next recreational ride is Saturday June 10 (900 am), meeting at Shipyard Market. Visit or call Ken at 888-3878 for more info.


1 Ken Trenholm (Summerside)           20.55
2 Jason Linger (Charlottetown)         0.05
3 Paul Wright (Bedeque)                0.49
4 Dave Clark (Summerside)              0.58
5 Chris Silvaggio (Summerside)         2.14
6 Jeff Hemphill (Summerside)           2.30
7 Leo Flood (Kinkora)                  3.00
8 Ben Kennedy (Kensington)             3.35
9 Jules Aucoin (Summerside)            4.07
10 Rob Cook (Traveller's Rest)         4.16
11 Ernie Schleichkorn (Summerside)     4.25
12 Chris Gallant (Summerside)          4.51
Overall Training Point Leaders (Women)
1 Nancy Woodington (Kensington)          52 pts
Overall Training Point Leaders (Men)
1 Ken Trenholm (Summerside)             335 pts
2 Wes Jackshaw (Summerside)             258
3 Chris Silvaggio (Summerside)          203
4 Rob Cook (Traveller's Rest)           185
5 Ben Kennedy (Kensington)              185
6 Leo Flood (Kinkora)                   133
7 Jeff Hemphill (Summerside)            101
8 Jason Linger (Charlottetown)           89
9 Chris Gallant (Summerside)             55
10 Jules Aucoin (Summerside)             42
11 Paul Wright (Bedeque)                 42
12 Dave Clark (Summerside)               37
13 Ernie Schleichkorn (Summerside)       14

Local results 2006