Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Tom Bamford Lancaster Classic elite amateur race

Lancaster, PA June 4, 2006

Jame Carney Charges to Sprint Win in Lancaster

The Elite Amateur Men had the honor of being the first event in this year’s Commerce Bank Triple Crown of Cycling and they didn’t disappoint with an action packed hour of racing.

This kick off event featured 67 of the Eastern United States best elite racers. After completing 50 laps of the 6/10 mile four corner criterium course the race was decided by a mass field sprint won by a 37 year old veteran of the professional peloton and two time Olympian Jame Carney (Alliance Environmental). Using his considerable sprinting prowess to power away from the field as they charged to the line Carney took the first win of the weeklong festival of cycling known as the Commerce Bank Triple Crown of Cycling.

The action was fast from the start as rider after rider took their chance going up the road but the hungry field kept each attempt within close reach. All the while a lone Jame Carney could be seen sitting on the back of the group with his jersey flapping in the wind as if he was on a group training ride. As the race wound down it became apparent that the winner would come from a mass field sprint. With five laps to go Carney took his position at the front of the field where his strong Alliance Environmental was ready to deliver their sprinter to the line.

Active all day in break attempts, Jared Babik (Meredith Group-GPOA-Cannondale) saved enough to grab Carney’s wheel and pick up a well deserved second place. The final podium spot went to the 19 year old Michael Chauner who is a former Junior national champion and Jr. World's team member, current Bucknell collegiate cyclist and key member of the Sakonnet Technologies U-25 team.


1 Jame Carney (Alliance Environment)    1.11.01
2 Jared Babik (Meredith Group-GPOA-)           
3 Michael Chauner (CRCA/Sakonnet Techno)       
4 Gerardo Castro (Natures Path present)        
5 Paul Ward (Natures Path present)             
6 Brent Arthurs (Team DLS / Evolution)         
7 Jason Snow (Cycle Science)                   
8 Elliot Gould                                 
9 Ramon Benitez (Artemis)                      
10 Ward Solar (Team Natures Path)              
11 Adrian Gerrits (Tri-State Velo)             
12 Jared Faciszewski (VMG Racing)              
13 Johnny Hayes (CRCA/Sakonnet Techno)         
14 Jonathan Royal (Tri State Velo)             
15 Guy East (CRCA/Sakonnet Techno)             
16 Taylor Brown                                
17 David Wiswell (CRCA/Sakonnet Techno)        
18 Mark Light (Team Alliance Enviro)           
19 Todd Cassan (Rocinante)                     
20 Michael Hebe (Meredith Group-GPOA-)         
21 Teddy Hockenberry (cycle science)           
22 Ryan Mckinney (Team Snow Valley)            
23 Robert Hacker (Meredith Group-GPOA-)        
24 Nathan Deibert (Dynaflo Racing / Tec)       
25 Todd Hipp (Evolution Cycling /)             
26 Russell Blake (Monstr Health Cyclin)        
27 Fred Reidenbach (HydroMax)                  
28 Andrew Wulfkuhle (LSV/Kelly Benefit St)     
29 Chadd Martin (Meredith Group-GPOA-)         
30 Chase Fullerton (VMG Racing)                
31 Keith Wilson (GS Lancaster)                 
32 Alex Ferrero (CRCA/ Sakonnet Techn)         
33 Glenn Murray (Tri State Velo)               
34 David Black (Swashbuckler Brewing)          
35 Christopher Kuhl (CRCA/Sakonnet Techno)     
36 John Lux (Hunt Valley Bicycles)             
37 Jackie Simes                            0.15
38 Wes Shirey (Monstr Health Cyclin)           
39 Mitchell Luck (Artemis)                     
40 Steve May (Monstr Health Cyclin)            
41 Bruce Donaghy (Morgan Stanley Cycli)        
42 Brian Fouche (LSV/Kelly Benefit St)         
43 Bill Short (Alliance Environment)           
44 Mark Warno (Evolution Cycling /)        0.35
45 Wayne Work Jr (Swashbuckler Brewing)    0.38
46 Fred Billet (Meredith Group-GPOA-)          


Local results 2006