Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival



Cross Cycling Club

Eelmore, UK, June 29, 2005

Considering it was such a nice evening, it was relatively poor turnout of riders for race number 9 in the Eelmore series, sponsored by Agisko Natural Sports Nutrition and Viner Bikes. Remember there is a frame up for grabs for the rider who has shown most or best, in the opinion of the organisers, and plenty of agisko products for the overall series winner, worked out on total Surrey League points awarded.

From the gun, Paul Pickup made his intentions clear and he dragged along Anders Christensen for company. This trio was eventually joined by Lee Day, Steve Richards and Roger Morgan and they all worked well to increase the lead every lap over the fragmented chasers. These five riders all stayed together come the finish and it was a bit of a surprise that Anders took the gallop just ahead of Lee Day. Paul Pickup had been the main protagonist throughout the race and looked to be strongest, giving teammate Lee a chance to sit on, which is not like him to do, and surely win the sprint, but they didn't take into account the finishing speed of the ever improving VC Meudon rider, who won by just about the width of a tyre.

Rob Hurd made his first appearance at Eelmore, to see what it was all about, but he was a bit off the pace having only just returned to training after a spell of lower level training thanks to a cold. Neil Hoban moved up to second category racing with the big boys and found it a bit faster than he's used to in the 3/4 categories, but I'm sure he'll soon pick it up and be up there as usual.

In the 3/4's, after winning at Hillingdon the evening before, Lewis Atkins left his lone charge a little later than usual to lead from the front and win alone. James Boyman managed to slip the pursuing bunch with four to go to come in second and alone, while Mark Bremner, obviously happy at winning the sprint for third place headed up the massed bunched sprint.

If you would like to be part of a successful club that supports and encourages riders at all levels and of all standards, please contact Gary Kristensen MBE via the website "Contact Us" link on We are particularly looking for Youths and Juniors to supplement our Development Squad, as well as ladies and seasoned time triallists looking for national medals!


Cat 3/4/Women/Veterans/Juniors
1 Lewis Atkins (Glendene CC/Biketrax)     
2 James Boyman (      
3 Mark Bremner (VC Meudon)                
4 Matt Plested (      
5 Dave Mascall (Norwood Paragon)          
6 Phil Atkins (PCA Cyclos Unos)           
7 Brian Smith (North Hants CC)            
8 Stuart Grimes (Team Axiom)              
9 Keith Brooks (VC Meudon)                
10 Paul Cooper (Reading CC)               
Elite/Cat 1/2
1 Anders Christensen (VC Meudon)          
2 Lee Day (Liphook Cycles RT)             
3 Paul Pickup (Liphook Cycles RT)         
4 Steve Richards (VC Meudon)              
5 Roger Morgan (Stilton RT)               
6 Adrian Goatley (    
7 Phil Starr (Starr Guttering RT )        
8 Neil Hoban (VC Meudon)                  
9 Dave Larcombe (VC Meudon)               
10 Keir O'Donnell (Beyond Mtb's)          

Local results 2004