Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival



Cross Cycling Club

Eelmore, UK, June 22, 2005

A balmy, hot and humid evening greeted those brave enough to ride the unofficial world championships at Eelmore last Wednesday (June 22). With little wind, it looked like the heat would be the main factor deciding the races, and so it proved to be, with plenty of riders dropping out under the blazing sun.

In the 3/4s, young Lewis Atkins was back; and with James Boyman for company, they showed their intentions early on to break away and ride strongly together. These two were joined by former National RR champion and occasional Eelmore rider Neil Hoban. Neither misses a turn and they forged a commanding lead on the rest, ably assisted by the presence of team mates from VC Meudon (for Neil) and (for James). Pity it was not to be for either of these, as Lewis has a habit of spoiling the party, and he easily won the sprint. Neil, sportingly, sat up and let the two younger talents decide the first two spots, but I suspect he'd had a good workout by that point anyway! The inevitable bunch sprint for 4th happened, even after the efforts of Mike Anderson from to try and break it up in the last few laps. Richard Cowen was strongest in the gallop and it was good to see a well fought out sprint with no-one giving ground to each other.

Unusually the Elite/Cat 1/2 field ended up all back together for a bunched sprint after the race had been thinned out by the high pace and hot weather. First time at Eelmore rider Alex Higham, from the very well run and presented Stilton RT set up, was first to show, spending a good few laps off the front alone, but each time a break went, it was eventually brought back. The main animator and rider who worked hardest on the night to bring things back was Anders Christensen. The early move that went with him, Paul Pickup and Sam Gardner in it looked destined to be the winning one, but when Justin Hoy tried to get across, Sam dropped back for him, the momentum was lost and it all came back together. If a move did not have Anders in it, he was the main man pulling it back. He's grown in strength this season and should continue to get some quality results in the longer, hillier SE Series events he is more suited to. Great riding.

So, in the gallop, it was Justin Hoy, who had sat in for most of the race anyway (I reckon), who took it from the other known sprinter Lee Day. Anders claimed a very well deserved third and Adrian Goatley ( is showing signs of the early season form he had until a knee injury set him back a couple of months, with a good fourth place, ahead of some very strong riders. It was good racing to watch all round, just a pity there are not more coming to sign on and have a go at this fast and flat circuit.


1 Rob Jackson (                         
2 Elliott Storey (PCA Cyclos Unos)                          
Cat 3/4/Vets/Women/Juniors
1 Lewis Atkins (Glendene CC/Biketrax)                       
2 James Boyman (                        
3 Neil Hoban (VC Meudon)                                    
4 Richard Cowen (Swindon RC)                                
5 Angus MacInness (RAF CC)                                  
6 Mark Bremner (VC Meudon)                                  
7 Steve Ferris (VC Meudon)                                  
8 Mark Cracknell (                           
9 Paul Stedman (Reading CC)                                 
10 Daron Gardner (CC Basingstoke)                           
Elite/Cat 1/2
1 Justin Hoy (Evans RT)                                     
2 Lee Day (Liphook Cycles RT)                               
3 Anders Christensen (VC Meudon)                            
4 Adrian Goatley (                      
5 Nick Dawes (Farn & Camb CC/East St Cycles/Porsche/PoD)    
6 Alex Higham (Stilton RT)                                  
7 Paul Pickup (Liphook Cycles RT)                           
8 Phil Starr (Starr Guttering RT )                          
9 Joel Stewart (                        
10 John Veness (Evans Cycles RT)                            

Local results 2004