Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Surry League/Addiscombe CC

JB Smith Memorial Road Race - Norwood Hill, UK, April 2, 2005

By Paul Tunnell

On a sunny Saturday afternoon, 39 riders lined up for the JB Smith Memorial road race. Early in the first of five laps, two Norwood Paragon riders, Justin Lomas and Steve Calland broke clear and had gained around 30 seconds on the bunch.

By the end of the second lap, their lead had grown to almost a minute, and a reaction from the main field resulted in a group of eight riders, including the promoting club's Mark Cole, chasing hard, the bunch a further 20 seconds adrift. As more riders bridged to the chasing group, they lost the impetus and by the end of the third lap they were all back together, about a minute in arrears. Shortly after, another Norwood Paragon rider, Russell Painter, latched on to hard charging Junior, Matt Rugman (Kingsnorth Int Wheelers), and the two of them escaped the bunch and set about closing the gap to the leaders.

At the bell Justin and Steve continued to look comfortable and were still holding the chasers to about a minute, whereas the bunch had clearly slowed and were 2:30 behind. The finish, which sat atop a slight rise, was the scene for the two Norwood Paragon riders to fight it out, the sprint bringing them level at the bottom; but Justin finished the stronger and Steve sat up with 50 metres to go.

The second pair of escapees saw Russell easily dispose of Matt Rugman chances of finishing third, having had a relatively easy ride to the finish. On the last lap, ex-cat 1 rider Tim Lawn of Kingston Wheelers took advantage of a lull in the bunch to finish alone in fifth place. Rob Fallon (Fit For) comfortably won the bunch sprint for sixth place by a bike length from Stuart Grimes (Team Axiom).

I would like to thank all the members of the Addiscombe Cycling Club that helped make the event a safe one and a successful promotion.


1 Justin Lomas (Norwood Paragon CC)          2.06.35
2 Steve Calland (Norwood Paragon CC)            0.30
3 Russell Painter (Norwood Paragon CC)          1.32
4 Matthew Rugman (Kingsnorth Int Wh)            1.42
5 Tim Lawn (Kingston Wheelers)                  3.14
6 Robert Fallon (Fit-For)                       3.55
7 Stuart Grimes (Team Axiom)                        
8 Marlon Moncrieffe (Private)                       
9 Toni Bond (TM Racing)                             
10 Ian O'Hara (Sydenham Wheelers)                   
11 George Higgs (Brighton Excelsior)                
12 Brian Tidey (Addiscombe CC)                      
13 Mark Cole (Addiscombe CC)                        
14 Rob Tubbs (London Dynamo)                        
15 Brian Molloy (Epsom CC)                          
16 Neil MacLennan (Team Corridori)                  
17 Simon Thomson (Agiskoviner)                      
18 Marek Siwicki (Addiscombe CC)                    
19 Julian Rickard (Epsom CC)                        
20 Dillon Adams (Norwood Paragon CC)                
21 Duncan Murdoch (Redhill CC)                      
22 Tony Gordon (Pearson Cycles)                     
23 Robert Jeffroy (London Dynamo)                   
24 Kevin Butchart (Twickenham CC)                   
25 David Streule (London Dynamo)                    
26 Thorsten Klassen (Kingston Wheelers)             
27 Tom Langley (London Dynamo)                      
28 William Thomas (Viner Agisko)                    
29 Ben Dallison (Twickenham CC)                     
30 Dan Bartley (Redhill CC)                         
31 Peter Patterson (Private)                        
32 Richard Varian (Epsom CC)                        
33 Richard Barrowclough (Team Sport & Publicity)    
34 Hannah Reynolds (Evans Cycles RT)                

Local results 2004