Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival



Cross Support Services Eelmore Circuit Race

June 30, 2004

Bad weather threatened but never materialised tonight, which was fortunate for the riders, as the racing was held on the tighter top circuit to prepare those braving the tough streets and cobbles of Guildford on the 7th July. There was quite a strong wind, which meant that the section by the trees, as they went round anti-clockwise, was pretty tough, but then it was wind behind and on the brakes into the chicane corner. No crashes, so that was a success, but quite a few packed, unused to the more frantic pace from the off.


Just three signed on and they pretty much used it as a warm up for riding up into the 3/4 event. No real contest to report, so just see the results below!


The riding started at a fairly sedate pace until talented youth James Boyman rode off the front and had the others chasing for a good 8 laps until he punctured and had to stop for a wheel change. In that time, the leading group stayed together and James slid back into the action, composed himself for a few laps and then was pretty much on or near the front from then on. With 5 to go on the board he attacked and got 20 metres, which steadily rose to 30 then 40 as the last few laps were ticked off. This was not due to apathy in the chase bunch, but more down to the strength of the youngster, who had done a club 10 mile TT the evening before, winning that in 22:40 as well!! He's some boy and one to watch in the GHS this year as he attempts to qualify for the finals later in the year. I should think he will have no problem and maybe win the overall.


From the gun, the hammer went down, with Tom Smith of the promoting club leading the way. He opened a gap which Chris Birch (Evans Cycles RT) also exploited, maybe seeing the danger, and the two were down the road for 50 metres before Roger Morgan (Parrot Print RT) jumped across. These three worked well together and gradually gained on the bunch courtesy of the other two Evans RT riders carefully watching and patrolling any attempts at chasing down. Dave Larcombe (VC Meudon), not so fresh from the Surrey League 5 Day Jaunts, showed his class at ornering... or maybe he was pretty terrible round the corners!! Yes, that's why he went off the back in the first two laps. Note for diary - must practice cornering faster!!! Lee Day (Liphook Cycles RT) was riding very cautiously too after a recent falling off the bike incident left him with deep cuts to his face and laboured breathing. In the sprint, it was Tom that led it from the top corner and won quite convincingly from Chris and Roger, with Justin Hoy narrowly beating Brett Perez (Freerider RT) for 4th place.

Remember that next week the 7th July there is NO EVENT due to the Guildford Crits being run. Normal racing resumes on the 14th on the full circuit, for those who don't like the shorter faster stuff.


Youths - 15 mins + 3 laps
1 Gareth Dickinson (Team Luciano)                          
2 James Boyman (Team Luciano)                              
3 Rob Jackson (F & C CC)                                   
3/4/W/V/J - 30 mins + 5 laps
1 James Boyman (Team Luciano)                              
2 Andrew Self (                              
3 D. McKeaveney (CC Basingstoke)                           
4 Keir O'Donnell (Beyond Mtb)                              
5 Duncan Haros (VC Meudon)                                 
6 Dean Frost (Liphook Cycles RT)                           
7 Nick Evans (Beyond Mtb)                                  
E/1/2 - 40 mins + 10 laps
1 Tom Smith ( Support Services)    
2 Chris Birch (Evans Cycles RT)                            
3 Roger Morgan (Parrot Print RT)                           
4 Justin Hoy (Evans Cycles RT)                             
5 Brett Perez (Freerider RT)                               
6 Warren Jesse (VC Meudon)                                 
7 Adam Craig (VC Meudon)                                   
8 Steve Farmer (Evans Cycles RT)                           
9 Steve Richards (VC Meudon)                               
10 Kieran Williams (                         

Local results 2004