Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from New Zealand

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

The Hub Two Day Tour

Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, January 20-21, 2007

Jeremy Vennel (DFL
Photo ©: Ben Rowell
(Click for larger image)

In brilliant sunshine and true Hawke's Bay summer weather the 108 riders in the Hub Open Two Day Tour shed blood, sweat and tears. The final winner of the A grade, Tom David from Auckland, showed a high level of maturity at the young age of sixteen. David rode a calculated race in each of the four stages, finishing in the top three on Saturday. His second place at the Te Mata Peak hill climb on Sunday morning put him on top of the leader-board and in the yellow jersey with one more race to go. Defending this jersey became a lot easier when Ryan Wills and Steve Stannard, his main rivals in second and third place, took each other out in a crash. This happened in the last stage around the Tukituki circuit.

Hasting rider Jeremy Vennel, suffering from a nasty leg infection, showed real grit and determination to finish second overall. Vennel won the criterium stage on Saturday afternoon and finished third in the hill climb. His stellar performance in the last stage, where he bridged a one minute twenty second gap solo and took out this stage in a sprint finish, showed this local rider's world class talent.

Dan Warren, a mechanic at The Hub, showed the field of 38 riders in the B grade that he is still the king of the sprints. Warren managed to procure enough points throughout the weekend at the different sprint primes to be crowned 'sprint ace' at the end of the Tour. Other Hasting rider Richard Brough broke away from the pack during the last stage and had a two minute lead at the start of the third and final lap. This big gap made Brough the virtual leader, but his solo effort started to take its toll on this brave rider. The chasing trio of Simon Honour, Wade Mangham and Warren had to work hard to bridged this gap and set up a sizzling final. On the line Honour took first place and the yellow jersey, Mangham second and Brough third.

Tom David in yellow
Photo ©: Ben Rowell
(Click for larger image)

A second place and a win on Saturday in the C grade saw Ramblers member Jason Stent defending his yellow jersey in the third stage hill climb. Stent had to capitulate on the slopes of Te Mata Peak and surrender more than two and a half minutes to overall winner Jeremy Meech. Stent's victory in the battle for line honour in the final stage helped restore some of his lost glory as he finished fifteen overall. Veteran Mark August from Waipukurau and junior Jason Hurley from Dartmoor, finishing second and third overall, where the other outstanding local Ramblers riders. Hurley surprised the field and himself by taking out the hill climb. August raced strongly throughout the whole weekend, always within striking distance of the yellow jersey.

The small but strong field of eleven Under 17 riders gave us a glimpse of what we can expect in the future. This crop of young cyclists displayed a never-say-die attitude, and raced every staged as if it was their last one. Tom Findlay from Palmerston North had his substantial lead reduced to only a few seconds due to a time penalty incurred in the third stage. This incidence spurred the youngster and Findlay attacked from the gun in the final stage to take line honours and first overall.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Ben Rowell


A Grade
1 Tom David             5.55.13
2 Jeremy Vennel            0.17
3 Edwin Crossling          0.42
4 Justin Kerr              1.07
5 Alistair Crossling       1.51
6 Karl Murray              2.05
7 Joshua Barley            2.08
8 Mark Langlands           2.55
9 Joseph Cooper            2.57
10 Stephen Elden           3.29
11 Brad Carter             4.15
12 Joshua Brannigan        4.19
13 Jonathan Dunne          4.22
14 Chris Sanson            4.30
15 Rico Rogers             5.07
16 Saul Webb               5.27
17 Peter Rennie            5.45
18 Aron Wheeler            8.18
19 Danny Hillary          17.25
20 Josh Brown             17.41
21 Andrew Ellis           18.22
22 Brian Biggs            34.47
23 Daniel Carruthers      42.07
DNF Steve Stannard             
DNF Ryan Wills                 
DNF James Dobson               
DNF Bruce Boardman             
DNF Thomas Libby               
DNF Daniel Waluszewski         
B Grade
1 Simon Honour          6.06.06
2 Wade Mangham             0.25
3 Richard Brough           0.33
4 Christopher Russell      1.33
5 Grant Nicoll             2.00
6 Jonathan Coates          2.35
7 Christopher Ratcliffe    2.36
8 Andrew Townsend          2.37
9 Darryl Stachan           2.50
10 Hayden Patene           2.53
11 Wayne Mote              2.55
12 Andrew Yates            3.08
13 Vaughn Phillipson       3.10
14 Dan Warren              3.18
15 Jason Kelly             3.29
16 Austen Thomson          4.03
17 Patrick Kelly           4.04
18 Saul Gudsell            4.16
19 Michelle Hyland         4.20
20 Kevin Strongman         4.31
21 Bruce Galloway          5.15
22 Cameron Senior          5.20
23 Craig Hoskin            7.07
24 Brie Gudsell            8.52
25 Nathan Bunn            10.02
26 Carl Paton             10.14
27 Tom Warren             13.30
28 Winston Briggs         16.13
29 Barry Hyland           17.09
30 Gina Waibal            18.50
31 Phillip Rowland        19.00
32 Gavin Povey            19.09
33 Amy Mosen              25.49
34 Kent Croote            28.29
35 Sam Park               28.30
36 Alisdair MacKenzie     36.01
37 Clarke Demchy          40.14
C Grade
1 Jeremy Meech          4.38.03
2 Mark August              0.17
3 Jason Hurley             0.23
4 Bob Puru                 0.33
5 Craig Anderson           0.43
6 Dave Youngquest          0.54
7 Rob Menefy               1.02
8 Hamish Goodwin           1.22
9 Roy VanPanhuys           1.34
10 Chris Avery             1.45
11 Kent Wilson             1.52
12 Hunter Boyce            2.00
13 Sonia Hill              2.02
14 Ian Fraser              2.26
15 Jason Stent             2.54
16 Noel Holden             4.38
17 Steve Watson            6.18
18 Hillary Green          12.11
19 Brian Astridge         16.26
20 Steph Everson          18.52
21 Eddie Kattenburg       27.24
22 Michael Gibbs          27.39
23 Lou Newton             28.22
24 Susan Tunnicliff       31.32
25 Kevin Foote            37.13
26 Jess Patchett          49.49
27 Glen Crompton        1.07.38
DNF Ray Morgan                 
DNF Shona Brown                
DNF Daniel Ward                
Under 17
1 Tom Findlay           2.35.51
2 Wiremu Kaihau            1.56
3 Zane Winiata             1.57
4 Sean Joyce               2.00
5 Matt Hales               4.28
6 Sjoerd VanWagtendo       4.29
7 Rory MacKenzie           6.41
8 Nick Sutton              7.01
9 Thomas Dib              26.47
10 William Taylor         29.59
11 Sarah Watson           32.04

Local results 2007