Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Luxembourg

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Grand Prix Charles von Roesgen

Luxembourg, September 2, 2007

The Brits deliver

By Jean-Paul Welter

22 ladies aligned for the 75.5 km of the GP. Charles von Roesgen in Luxembourg on September 2nd. The riders came from Belgium , Holland, Great Britain, Germany and Luxembourg.

During the first three laps a few attacks by Nöhles, Stumpf and Delfosse did not succeed. The first decisive attack was during lap four when the pack was split. Seven riders stayed in the front group. Six riders were chasing behind but they couldn't get back.

The decisive actions for the win began only in the last lap, when Nöhles made another try. But she couldn't get away, and neither could Delfosse on her attempt. It was Rachel Heal, the current British vice champion, who made a really impressive attack in the last uphill. She immediately opened a gap of 100 meters and about four kilometres to go. There was no chance for the other six ladies to get back and Heal reached the finish line with an advantage of 26 seconds.

The sprint was won by another Brit. Catherine Hare beat Claudia Stumpf of Team Nürnberger Versicherungen, who started as one of the favourites. The Belgian women from Team Lotto Belisol Lien Beyen and Catherine Delfosse took the places four and five.


Elite women

1 Rachel Heal (GBr) Webcor                        2.10.45 (34.646 km/h)
2 Catherine Hare (GBr) Rapha/Condor                  0.26
3 Claudia Stumpf (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung    
4 Lien Beyen (Bel) Lotto Belisol                         
5 Catherine Delfosse (Bel) Lotto Belisol                 
6 Alexandra Nöhles (Ger) Team KogaMiyata                 
7 Désirée Schuler (Ger) Team Coogee                      
8 Lianne Wagtho (Ned) RestoreCycling                 4.25
9 Sabine Fischer (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung    
10 Dorothee Janke (Ger) Team KogaMiyat                   
11 Monique Ludovicy (Lux) VVTooltime                     
12 Christine Kovelter (Lux) UC Dippach                   
13 Nina Kessler (Ned) WT Rapha/Cond                      
14 Tanja Mousty (Lux) VV Tooltime                   14.25
15 Sonja Eicher (Lux) VVTooltime à                       
16 Gabriele Kolb (Ger) RSC Rheinbach à                   
DNF  Britta Nadler (Ger) Team KogaMiyata                 
DNF  Nicole Heine (Ger) Team KogaMiyata                  
DNF Monique Pepin (Lux) VV Tooltime                      
DNF Béatrice Godart (Lux) LG Alzingen                    
DNF Lynn Kayser (Lux) VV Tooltime                        
DNF Sabine Blöcher (Ger) Team Coogee                      

Local results 2007