Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Italy

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Latest results from Italy

Trofeo Caduti di Soprazocco
GP La Torre


Memorial Furlan

Veneto, Italy, April 12, 2005

The 2005 AIS Mapei Aqua Australian had their first European race for 2005 on Sunday. The riders for the day were Chris Sutton (AIS/NSWIS), Nic Sanderson and Simon Clarke (AIS/VIS), Mat Rex (AIS/SASI) and James Meadley (AIS/ACTAS). Arriving next week are Matt Goss (AIS/TIS) and Sean Finning (AIS/VIS). Also competing on Sunday was Johnny Clarke (VIS) riding for Italian club, Bibanese.

The race was the Memorial Furlan and is in the Veneto region of northern Italy. The race was over 150km consisting of 16 laps of 7km followed by a lap of around 30km including the climb of Forcella Mostacin. The weather was pretty ordinary all day and got worse as the race progressed with rain and low temperatures.

The Aussies rode aggressively and had a man in every move. As the nervous group reached the main climb there were several crashes. Matt Rex tumbled over one crash and Chris Sutton slipped on a descent and crashed out of the lead group. Neither rider was injured, but both were out of contention. Simon Clarke and Johnny Clarke (no relation) came over the last climb just off the back of the leaders, finishing in 13th (Johnny) and 16th Simon. The others finished in teh pack close behind. Team staff felt that the performance was a very promising start, considering they had flown in several days earlier and that it was Simon Clarke's first Under 23 race, having just come up from the junior ranks.


1 Tiziano Dall'Antonia (Zalf Désirée Fior)    
2 Stefano Basso (Marchiol Ima Famila)         
3 Oscar Gatto (Zalf Désirée Fior)             
4 Derik Zampedri (Trevigiani Dynamon)         
5 Francesco Gavazzi (Egidio Unidelta)         
13 John Clarke (Bibaese)                      
16 Simon Clarke (AIS Mapei Aqua Australia)    

Local results 2004