Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Canada

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Midweek CC

Toronto, May 30, 2005

Conditions were hot and muggy for the monthy points race in the Midweek Tuesday Night Series. Midweek's Peter Hein won the early race by sprinting for the early points and then defending his lead, the final sprint was won by Ayesha Rollinson, when she initiated a two rider break with Liza Miranda (Midweek CC) and they picked up enough points to finish 3rd and 4th respectively.

The late race was a celebrity affair featuring local stars such as Jet Fuel's Joe Giuliano, Sunday's High Park race winner Cameron Hughes of Italpasta-Transport Belmire and his team and notorious local "character" Shane Lavell (SCCC). Students from Seneca college were also on hand interviewing riders for a class project.

Once the race was underway, early sprint points were taken by Jet Fuel's Peter Morse and series leader Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta), with Josh Hall of KHS and Dan Lefebvre picking up points as well. With less than 25 laps remaining La Bicicletta's Darko Ficko went on the attack with Attila Hadju of MBRC, and picked up two intermediate sprints before being swallowed up by the pack. But that was not to be the last we saw of Mr. Ficko, for he launched another massive attack with six laps remaining to pick up the final two sprints including the final for double points giving him the tie in points with Peter Morse, but it would be the placing the final that would break the tie, that would give him the winj. So the powerful La Bicicletta squad notched up another win at the Tues. Night Races.

Thanks to Criag Fagan and Dan Rothnie for setup and takedown and to Joe Dilecce for working the lap counter. Note that Tues. June 10th will be Midweek's Media day at Buckhorn and many special events are planned ending with the feature attraction, the summer solstice Cash for Points criterium. Details will appear at


Early Race, Points Race, 20 Laps - 19.6 km
1 Peter Hein (Midweek CC)      16 pts
2 Tim Buckley (Newmarket)      15 
3 Ayesha Rollinson (Midwek CC) 12 
4 Liza Miranda (Midweek CC)     6 
5 Dan Thompson (Madonna)        4 
6 Derek Hsiung (Midweek CC)     4 
7 Grant Buyar (Midweek CC)      3 
8 Ireen Wieditz (Jet Fuel)      2 
9 Steve Hamilton (Madonna)      2 
Late Race, 56 Laps - 54.9 km - 44.5 km/h avg
1 Darko Ficko (La Bicicletta)           25 pts
2 Peter Morse (Jet Fuel)                25
3 Josh Hall (Jet Fuel)                  22
4 Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta)        18
5 Dan Lefebvre (Team RACE)              16
6 Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel)              13
7 Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta)           8
8 Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club)   8
9 Joe Giuliano (Jet Fuel)                8
10 Thorben Wieditz (Italpasta Belmire)   6
11 Ryan Polawski (Bikesports)            5
12 Mark Shaw (Chain Reaction)            4
13 Matt Berridge (Ind.)                  3
13 Attlia Hadju (MBRC)                   3
13 Sebastian Porten (Aquila Racing)      3
16 Garnett Abbey (D'Ornellas)            2
16 Mark Polsinelli (Pavan)               2
16 Mark Hinnen (La Bicicletta)           2
19 Dave Byer (Midweek CC)                1
73 Starters

Local results 2006