Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Canada

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Midweek CC

Toronto, June 6, 2006

Midweek organizers cooked up a devilish plan for the June 6th, 2006 (aka 6/6/06) Midweek Tuesday night races. The second in the 2006 Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Series.

Following the usual 6:45 early race, the late race was to be for 66 laps, with $66 up for grabs for the winner.

A season record 84 riders came out to race on a beautiful June evening. It was La Bicicletta's strongman Darko Ficko rode like a man possessed to bring the race together in the finale and lead out his teamate Cockburn to the line (66 kph?). Though the sprint was hairy, the winner was not. Jet Fuel's Rodney McEwen who would pip La Bicicletta's Heath Cockburn at the line to take home his first win of the season.

A reminder to riders. OCA Rules apply at Midweek races. Racers must remain within the marked course and observe the OCA guidelines for rider conduct. Violators will be fined or suspended from competition.

As always additions and corrections to the results are welcome.

Thanks to Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for setup and takedown, to Ian Merman for help with registration and to Bobby Mrvelj for working the lap counter.

Reminder: The Midweek Media Night will be in two weeks. Tuesday June 20th. Cash prizes, special guests, BBQ and more. Check for details closer to the date.


Early Race, 20 Laps - 19.6 km

1 Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta)
2 Bruce Camacho (D'Ornellas)
3 Ben Beneditz (Pavan)
4 Peter Hein (Midweek CC)
5 (Pearl Izumi Jersey)
6 Mauro Rizzardo (Pavan)
7 Steve Hamilton (Madonna Wheelers)
8 Mike Steed (Midweek CC)
9 Ireen Wieditz (Jet Fuel)
10 Samera Fares (D'Ornellas)
11 Graham Anderson (Midweek CC)
12 Derek Hsiung (Midweek CC)
13 Fudge Kofman (
14 Tony Kovic
15 Lucinda Wallace (Mississauga)
16 Grant Buyar (Midweek CC)
17 Peter Murk
18 Hein Wick (Midweek CC)
19 Andrea Bowker (D'Ornellas)
20 David Conroy (Midweek CC)

Late Race, Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Series #2, 66 Laps - 64.7 km - 44 km/h

1 Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel)             1.28.00
2 Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta)
3 Peter Morse (Jet Fuel)
4 Keith Moore (Jet Fuel)
5 Thorben Wieditz (Italpasta - Belmire)
6 Paul Rego (
7 ??
8 Ed Maset (Pavan)
9 Ian Manning (Jet Fuel)
10 ??

84 Starters

Prime 1: Mark Polsinelli (Pavan)
Prime 2: Mark Hinnen (La Bicicletta)

Local results 2006