Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Canada

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Blizzard Bike Club

Fort St. John, BC, June 4, 2006

Robin Baillie of the Blizzard (+HR Block) won Dawson Creek’s ‘Snake pit’ Challenge Cup #4, Sunday, with an excellent solo effort on a very windy 70 km road race. He had a time of 2:03:23 hours. GP’s Joe Radench was 12 minutes back at 2:15:28 minutes for second and Pat Ferris outsprinted DC’s Trevor Kolkea for third at 2:20:58. Jaimie Kroschel (DC) was 5th at 2:26:14.

The Blizzards won the day with 56 points to Dawson Creek’s 37 and GP’s 25. The Blizzards are solidly in the overall lead with 257 points. Last years champion GP is barely ahead of Dawson Creek, 139 to 127 points with 5 series races to go.

Twenty five riders came out under very windy conditions on the Snake-pit RR (Rolla) circuit. The wind made the race very hard for all the riders.

Robin Baillie and Pat Ferris pulled away from the pack soon after the neutral was over. The duo took advantage of the fierce crosswinds to echelon a two minute lead to the Rolla turn. Baillie pulled away from Ferris at the 20 km mark to ride the winds alone and got a solid win. Joe Radench chased alone for almost the whole race but was unable to get even close. Pat Ferris was caught by Trevor Kolkea and the two sprinted it out with Ferris getting the final podium spot and Jamie Kroschel getting fifth, six minutes later.

Other 70 km finishers were Richard Fletcher (GP) 2:26:14, Duncan Banks (GP) 2:32:28, Jane Degasso (DC) 2:32:33, David Kay (GP) 2:32:36, Richard Wood (BBC) 2:32:47, Bob Andrews (BBC) 2:33:26, Les Elliot (BBC) 2:33:54, Barb Polehoykie (BBC) 2:42:08, Gord Harris (BBC) 2:45:23 and Jamie Maxwell (DC) 2:47:45. One rider crashed and did not finish.

Terry Stone of the Blizzard won the 50 km with 1:44:20. Kevin Cooper (B) was second at 1:54:00 and Patrick Llewellyn (DC) was third at 1:55:27. Frances Plum (GP) was 4th at 2:03:22.

Gillian Manson of Dawson Creek won the 30 km with 1:09:25. Eva St. Jean (B) was second at 1:26:22 and Sara Kolkea (DC) won the sprint for third at 1:27:02 from Jackie Lightfoot (DC) and Sandra Piper (DC).

Coming up

-Thursday Baldonnel time trial at 7 pm.

-Sunday Beatton Loop from Humpty’s at 2 pm.

Local results 2006