Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bendigo & District Cycling Club Senior Road Race

Emu Creek, Victoria, March 16, 2008

Tonkin scorches field

Graded Handicap Racing was held in 48 degree heat on Sunday morning, but despite the extreme lack of Autumn weather a large field gathered for the race prior to next weeks Easter break. The C Grade bunch controlled the race until the end with seasoned hitters Peter Moroni, Ron McCulloch, and Bruce Tonkin keeping a smooth pace throughout the two lap journey around the Emu Creek Circuit.

The B Grade bunch made good ground with the Terry and Todd Schintler father-son combination of the driving the bunch. The A Grade field set off at a furious pace but the heat forced some riders to withdraw at the end of the first lap, this disrupted tempo of the bunch The C Grade bunch held onto a 6 minute lead at the top of the Gooseneck on the final lap and were looking to capitalise on the gap. But they slowed and Race Commissaire Petar Benjamin thought they’d blown their very handy buffer. At the back of the race the A graders swept up the remnants of the B Grade on Axe Creek Road before the Exchange Hill. Kyle Marwood strung the bunch on the hill but couldn’t break the rubber band. The A graders were going like a freight train but couldn’t close the gap to the front bunch.

Youngster Todd Derrick attacked the C Grade bunch with two kilometres to go and quickly shot 200m ahead and looked like he was heading to solo victory. Meanwhile behind Derrick the C Graders looked at each other not wanting to close the break down at such a late stage. But it was Luke Barbetti who drew the short straw and opened up all valves with a monster effort in the final kilometre and motored the bunch across gap with only metres to spare. Bruce Tonkin judged the sprint best to roll Barbetti and Derrick for the win.


1 Bruce Tonkin    1.24
2 Luke Barbetti       
3 Todd Derrick        
A Grade
1 Kyle Marwood    1.27
2 Travis Storer       
3 Robbie Hucker       
B Grade
1 Troy West           
2 Steve Aaslam