Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Canberra Cycling Club Summer Criteriums

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, March 12, 2008

Final round showdown

It was a great atmosphere for the 18th and last round of the CCC Summer Criterium Series. The night was going to be short and sharp with the sun already setting by the time the C Grade men were lining up, and all senior grades rolling only 10 to 16 minutes plus two laps.

210 riders fronted, with no time to sit and admire the view, the racing was hot, and thankfully safe, with only one single-rider incident resulting from a tyre malfunction in Men's B. Brooke Tranter (SportsCare) achieved back to back victories in the junior race, with Matthew Kallir-Preece (Bike Shed) gracing the podium for the third time this season.

Alice Wallett continued her total domination of the Women's C grade, the 16 year old deciding that this week she'd challenge herself. Instead of 'just' winning the bunch sprint, she decided to attack mid-race, give herself some work, and still managed to hang on for a solo off-the-front win. Amy Eichner (Bike Culture)steps onto the dais for the first time in her cycling campaign, in a smart raced second place.

Sue Powell (Thialtra), complete with new carbon leg brace (must be working!!) would be quite chuffed I imagine with her first victory in Women's B, among a healthy field. Last week's winner, Kaori Ikeda, (Bike Culture) attacked vigorously mid race, but this week the bunch wasn't going to let her go. Meredith Hutchison, (Thialtra) and Christina Bourbous (V-mobile) rounding out the top three.

The top three A grade women are pretty clear cut, Chloe (Velo), Jess (Bike Shed) and Bec (RideShop) took the top spots last night, and for the season they also finished 1-2-3. Well done to you. Velo also won the premier team's competition in Women's A.

Simon Johnson enjoyed his last sojourn in Men's E, with a good win. Michael Milton (V-mobile) was breathing down his neck on the line, taking second in a good sprint.

Matt Menz (Thialtra)enjoyed his first victory in Men's D in only his second week in this grade. The average pace of Men's D and Men's E was exactly the same last night, with the gap between the lead D and the lead E riders the same at the end as it was as they rolled.

KialStewart claimed victory in Men's C, winning a bunch finish over now B grader Warrick Hancock (Thialtra).

Men's B grade was held together by persistent chasers, with every attack being shut down before it had a chance to establish. The QUON train ramped up the pace on the last lap, but the timing was a little off. Shane Hohensee (ADCC)sticking his nose in the wind at the last second for his second win, with Jason Mahoney (Bike Culture) second.

Men's A was a similar story, with a few trying attacks but nothing establishing, with an average pace of 46.3 km/h, it would have to have been a good break with help from the bunch to stick. It was James Meadley (RideShop) taking the chocolates in his 6th win from 12 starts. He wins the season's Overall Individual honours, but team glory in the premier men's grade goes to polished outfit Team Velo Canberra.


Men's A Grade (30 starters) 
1 James Meadley (Brumbys/(Ride Shop))    
2 Shaun Lewis (Velo Canberra)            
3 Michael Matthews (Brumbys Juniors)     
4 Ian Downing (Bike Culture)             
5 Marcus Hayman (Velo Canberra)          
6 Doug Stewart (ADCC)                    
7 Graeme Allbon (Bike Culture)           
8 Paul Connor (ADCC)                     
9 Dale Brede (V-Mobile)                  
10 Stephen Bomball (Velo Canberra)       
Men's B Grade (32 starters) 
1 Shayne Hohensee (ADCC)                 
2 Jason Mahoney (Bike Culture)           
3 Peter Lansome (Lonsdale St Cyclery)    
4 Chris Short (Squadra)                  
5 Taylor Lovelock-Wiggins (V-Mobile)     
6 Allan Bontjer (Masters ACT)            
7 Ulisses Da Silva (Team QUON)           
8 Mark Terracini (Team QUON)             
9 Dave Pinch                             
10 Travis Hicks (Team QUON)              
Men's C Grade (36 starters) 
1 Kial Stewart                           
2 Warrick Hancock (Thialtra)             
3 Felix Pirie (Lonsdale St Cyclery)      
4 Joel Rahman (V-Mobile)                 
5 Eric Wensing                           
6 Joel Ryan (Bike Culture)               
7 Shane Farrant (Ride Shop)              
8 David Wilkinson                        
9 Ben Long (V-Mobile)                    
10 Alistair Bishop (Bike Shed)           
Men's D Grade (16 starters) 
1 Matt Menz (Thialtra)                   
2 Paul Reid (ADCC)                       
3 Francois Mossard                       
4 Ross Ackland                           
5 Darryl Cram (V-Mobile)                 
6 Duane Toohey                           
7 Peter Coll (DI-Hards)                  
8 David Williams                         
9 Matthew Hinchcliffe (DI-Hards)         
10 Brad Lovelock (Bike Culture)          
Men's E Grade (19 starters) 
1 Simon Johnson                          
3 William Lind                           
4 Nick Claydon                           
5 Bruce Goodspeed                        
6 Malcolm Paterson (DI-Hards)            
7 Eric Katic                             
8 Robert Agostino                        
9 Frank Galic                            
10 Andrew McCredie                       
Women's A Grade (25 starters) 
1 Chloe Hosking (Velo Canberra)          
2 Jessie Maclean (Bike Shed)             
3 Bec Barwick (Ride Shop)                
4 Erica Collins (SportsCare)             
5 Grace Meisel-Dennis (Bike Shed)        
6 Bronwyn Ryan (Bike Culture)            
7 Liz Hayman (Velo Canberra)             
8 Narelle Hards (SportsCare)             
9 Lyndsey Vivian (V-Mobile)              
10 Meg Ross (Ride Shop)                  
Women's B Grade (16 starters) 
1 Sue Powell (Thialtra)                  
2 Meredith Hutchison (Thialtra)          
3 Christina Bourbous (V-Mobile)          
4 Lee Sheather (V-Mobile)                
5 Lyn Vasudeva (V-Mobile)                
6 Jane Gordon (Thialtra)                 
7 Kathleen Miles (Bike Culture)          
8 Kaori Ikeda (Bike Culture)             
9 Rowena Hodges (Hill Slug)              
10 Megan Pitcher (SportsCare)            
Women's C Grade (11 starters) 
1 Alice Wallett                          
2 Amy Eichner (Bike Culture)             
3 Keli Wainwright (Thialtra)             
4 Stephanie Leary                        
5 Samantha Brennan (Thialtra)            
6 Allison Rice (SportsCare)              
7 Karen Burgan (SportsCare)              
8 Helen King (Thialtra)                  
9 Brook Donnelly                         
10 Susan Pover                           
Junior Grade (24 starters) 
1 Brooke Tranter (SportsCare)            
2 Matthew Kallir Preece (Bike Shed)      
3 Declan Prosser (Bike Culture)          
4 Maddi Marshall (Bike Culture)          
5 John Bryant                            
6 Hamish Prosser                         
7 Thomas Willson                         
8 Emily Clark (V-Mobile)                 
9 Cameron Prosser (Bike Culture)         
10 Hamish Harding