Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycle Club Two person Time Trial

Illawarra, NSW, March 2, 2008

Strata Decision wins

Roger Ocvirk and Tony Pulo displayed guts and determination in recording the fastest time in the Illawarra Cycle Club’s 18.5km 2 person last Sunday morning. Their time of 28:04:91 was over a minute faster than either rider had previously ridden.

Thirty seven enthusiastic riders teamed up for the event, which was an excellent number considering twenty eight Club members had traveled down to Berridale for a training camp.

Time trials are often called the race of truth and when you are teamed up with another rider there is no where to hide so the suffering goes up to another level.

Second fastest time was set by Abe and Brad Martin. Their time was 29:12:46, which rider did most of the work depends on which brother was asked. Sneaking in by just on a second to take out third place was Lou Caruana and Greg Fisher in 29:16:11. Frank Tortorici will rue the time he took to get his foot into the pedal at the start as he and Scott Bradburn stopped the clock in 29:17:13 to take forth place.

Several riders registered substantial improvements on their previous best times on the day. Craig Brown teamed up with Dean Kelly to ride a time of 30:08:19, almost 3 minutes faster than Brown’s previous time and 1 minute faster than Kelly’s. Isacc Beard also took almost 3 minutes off his previous best time when he and Phil Mullany rode 30:15:73. Juan Ruiz also rode tenaciously when he and Vince O’Dwyer combined take almost a minute and a half off his previous best time.

Not be out done by the senior riders Ben Arnold and Bradley Heffernan recorded the fastest junior time of 19:01:51 by taking 26 seconds off their previous best time. Holly Heffernan, Sari Rose Mitrevski and Miranda Vaughan-Floyd combined well to stop the clock at 23:49:14.


All In - 18.5km
1 TonyPulo (Illawarra)               28.05
2 RogerOcvirk (Illawarra)                 
3 AbeMartin (Illawarra)               1.08
4 BradMartin (Illawarra)                  
5 LouCaruana (Illawarra)              1.11
6 GregFisher (UnKnown)                    
7 ScottBradburn (Illawarra)           1.12
8 FrankTortorici (Illawarra)              
9 BenBraddock (Illawarra)             1.36
10 CraigPaull (Illawarra)                 
11 DeanKelly (Illawarra)              2.03
12 CraigBrown (Illawarra)                 
13 PatrickDelahunty (Illawarra)       2.06
14 StephenHunter (Illawarra)              
15 IsaacBeard (Illawarra)             2.11
16 PhillipMullany (Illawarra)             
17 RichardLorenc (Illawarra)          2.21
18 LionelCovington (Illawarra)            
19 RobCalladine (Sth Highlands)       2.42
20 TonyClifford (Sth Highlands)           
21 JamesMottram (Illawarra)           2.54
22 GeoffPollard (Illawarra)               
23 EdwardBaird (Illawarra)            4.13
24 MarkCampbell (Illawarra)               
25 DavidAllen (Illawarra)             4.55
26 SamuelArnold (Illawarra)               
27 JenniVaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)     6.10
28 JeffVaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)          
29 JuanRuiz (Illawarra)               6.34
30 VincentO`Dwyer (Illawarra)             
31 KirstenArnold (Illawarra)          6.41
32 NicoleJoyce (Illawarra)                
Junior - 9.0km
1 BenjaminArnold (Illawarra)         19.02
2 BradleyHeffernan (Illawarra)            
3 MirandaVaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)    4.48
4 HollyHeffernan (Illawarra)              
5 Sari RoseMitrevski (Illawarra)